Review! The Time Smugglers by Rosie Morgan

14 Sep

timesmugThe Time Smugglers

Book 2 of The Camelot Inheritance Series

by Rosie Morgan

275 pages – ages 9+
Published by Liscarret Creations on July 17, 2014

Summary – Arthur Penhaligon, and his friends Gawain, Nick, and Tamar, are back in another great adventure!

Goodreads description:

It’s been a year since Arthur Penhaligon swapped his skateboard for a sword and became a reluctant, teenage hero – and a Guardian of Cornwall.
Twelve months since he and his friends found themselves among time-travelers and ancient knights.
Fifty-two weeks of wondering what would happen next. The waiting is almost over.
On Cornwall’s shores, old and new enemies are gathering, more deadly and more powerful than the four Guardians could ever imagine.
Memories will live and the Time Keeper will be named. There will be bloody battles, death will finally claim its prize and a tiny green dragon will make its mark
.”

What I thought - Rosie Morgan has written another great book in the Camelot Inheritance series! The series mixes modern characters with characters right out of the Arthurian legends. It is not simply a re-telling of the legends of King Arthur. I think Arthur and his friends are great characters, and people you want to see succeed in their mission. The book picks up from where the last book left off. I felt there should have been a bit more back story in the beginning, but the reader catches up pretty quickly. You don’t have to read the first book, but it would help going into the second, (plus I’d recommend reading it because it’s good). ;) I like how the plot gets thicker in this book, but a lot is revealed too. The story is action-packed and there is some violence, but nothing graphic at all. There are black and white illustrations scattered throughout the book that are a nice addition to the story. I like the Writer character, a mysterious lady who pretty much records everything that happens and is in charge of the time-travelers. I think it’s cool that the story takes place in modern Cornwall but people from different times pop in and out. The setting is described well and I found the story very enjoyable. This is great for MG or young advanced readers looking for a thrilling adventure.

I give this book four out of five bookworms!fourbooks

Check out my review of the first book in this series: The Golden Sword (click HERE)

To learn more about Ms. Morgan and her other books, please visit her website HERE.

Follow Ms. Morgan on Twitter HERE.

I love the cover on this book and the updated cover of the first book in the series – The Golden Sword!

Check it out!

gloden

Perfect Picture Book Friday! Little Elliot, Big City by Mike Curato

12 Sep

I HAVE BEEN WAITING AND WAITING for Perfect Picture Book Friday to come back from summer vacation to tell you about this book!

Susanna Leonard Hill has a feature on her blog called Perfect Picture Book Friday. It is a list of “perfect” picture books recommended by all sorts of people. I chose this book because Little Elliot had me at the cover!

 

littleelliotbigcityLittle Elliot, Big City

Written and Illustrated by Mike Curato

40 pages – ages 4+
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on August 26, 2014

Theme/Topic- Making friends / Having a cupcake ;)

Genre- Fiction

Opening and Synopsis- (publisher’s description)

“Amid the hustle and bustle of the big city, the big crowds and bigger buildings, Little Elliot leads a quiet life. In spite of the challenges he faces, Elliot finds many wonderful things to enjoy—like cupcakes! And when his problems seem insurmountable, Elliot discovers something even sweeter—a friend.”

Why I liked this book- Little Elliot is an amazingly cute little elephant. Who doesn’t love him? Come on? Who didn’t see Elliot on the cover and go “Awwwww”? ;) Mr. Curato has written a great story about friendship. I like how Elliot meets someone smaller than him and together they tackle the big city! The illustrations are magnificent, and if you don’t believe me, just take a look!

littleelintIsn’t that great? I like how it seems to take place in the 1940’s. The cars are well-drawn (and pretty cool). The clothing on the people match the time period too. I love the feel you get from just the pictures (like looking at an old picture). This story is awesome also! I think that it would make a marvelous read-a-loud and a book to teach that with a little help, we can meet our challenges! :)

 

 

Activities and Resources-

I love it when publishers have activity guides to go along with their books! Check out the parent and educator guide for Little Elliot HERE!

 Kindergarten-Lessons.com has a list of suggested friendship activities for the classroom. Click HERE to go THERE

To learn more about Little Elliot, Big City, please visit the publisher’s website HERE.

To learn more about Mr. Curato and his other works, please visit his website HERE.

To find more Perfect Picture Books please visit Susanna Hill’s blog HERE!

Why Did The Chicken Cross My Blog?

11 Sep

Why Did The Chicken Cross My Blog?

To get her book reviewed of course!

I have a dynamic duo of delightful chicken picture books to tell you about!

 

Henny

Written and Illustrated by Elizabeth Rose Stanton

40 pages – ages 4+
Published by Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books on January 7, 2014

-

-

Summary (from the inside jacket) – “Henny wasn’t a typical chicken. Henny had arms. And dreams. And plans. Big Plans.”

 

What I thought – This is a hilarious picture book about being unique! Henny isn’t sure what to do with her arms – she liked them, yet she didn’t like them. They made her different (good), and they made her different (bad). This is a wonderful story about finding yourself. Henny doesn’t know what to do with her arms and the results are awesome! Here is an example of what I mean (plus you get to see the awesome illustrations):

See what I mean? Ms. Stanton has created a wonderful story about a unique chicken with a wonderful meaning – be yourself.

I give Henny five out of five bookworms!fivebooks

To learn more about Henny, please visit the publisher’s website HERE.

To learn more about Ms. Stanton and her other works, please visit her website HERE.

 

bravechickBrave Chicken Little

Retold and Illustrated by Robert Byrd

40 pages – ages 4+
Published by Viking Juvenile on August 7, 2014

-

-

-

-

Summary (from the inside jacket) -

Whack!
What’s that?
Could it be? A piece of the sky!
Oh my!

Chicken Little and his friends run, run, run to tell the king. Nothing stands in the way except…the sly Foxy Loxy. Surely they have time to stop for lunch with Foxy and his kits. But what happens when Chicken Little and company find themselves on the menu?

What this classic story needs is a new ending and a brave hero. And maybe this time, it’s Chicken Little!”

What I thought – This book is a marvelous retelling of “Chicken Little”! I love that our young chick here is a real problem-solver. When faced with a serious situation, he calmly handles it (unlike in the original story). The illustrations are breath-taking, and I think it is really cool how they have an old-time feeling to them. I like that the clothes match the time period the art style portrays. Mr. Byrd has written a wonderful version of Chicken Little while still keeping the great fairytale feel to the story!

I give this 5 out of 5 bookworms!fivebooks

To learn more about this great re-telling of the classic story, please visit the publisher’s website HERE.

Review! Ariona: The Bounty Hunter by Anthony Lampe

10 Sep

Ariona: The Bounty Hunter (Explore-A-Quest)

by Anthony Lampe

edited by Kristi Lampe

104 pages – ages 10+

Published by CreateSpace on February 8, 2014

 

Summary –  The reader becomes Ariona The Bounty Hunter who is out to avenge the death of her father. Ariona is tracking  a thieving thug who is preying on sickly villagers by selling them poisoned medicine. To make things worse, her father’s murderer, Ludwig von Aldon, is now in control of an army of the undead. What happens next is up to you (literally) as you choose which path Ariona takes!

What I thought – This is the 5th book in Mr. Lampe’s Explore-A-Quest series. It is very well-done, and transitioned well from page to page. The choose your own part of it worked well and I enjoyed going back and trying different paths. Ariona is a great character who you really cheer on. The story is good, and I really like the setting, too. I really felt like I was there. The characters are realistic and fun to read about. The fact that Ariona is a girl is a great touch. For a choose your own adventure, the story was pretty cool. I like that it is written toward MG aged kids – most choose your own adventures I read are written for grade-school aged kids. The book was a very quick read for me. I think that kids in the middle grades would really enjoy this. There is some violence but nothing graphic. I’d definitely give the other books in this series a try.

I give this book 4 out of 5 bookworms! fourbooks

To learn more about Mr. Lampe and his other Explore a Quest books, please visit the series’ official website HERE.

 

 

 

Review! The River Way Home by Mary E. Dawson

8 Sep

riverwayThe River Way Home: The Adventures of the Cowboy, the Indian, & the Amazon Queen
by Mary E. Dawson
338 pages – ages 12+
Published by WRB Publishing; 1 edition on December 31, 2013 (ebook)
Published by AQ Press; AQ Press edition on March 12, 2014 (paperback)

Summary – It was the year 1914, and Queenie (an African-American girl) never could have imagined how running into a white fishboy (Billy) and a Seminole Indian (the Chief was his nickname) would change her life. But change it they did. It all started out with a simple boat ride onto a lake. It turned into an all-out adventure! From running from an outlaw to getting struck by lighting, join the tale of 3 unlikely friends on an adventure through the Everglades!

What I thought – Historical fiction is a favorite of mine and this book did not disappoint! It is chock-full of action, history, and excitement! Queenie is a great main character, and she sounds like someone that I would love to go on an adventure with. I like how Ms. Dawson teaches her readers about the Everglades and the time period while wrapping a great story around it. I also like how she works in the Odyssey, the Iliad, King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table, Seminole Legends, and more, into her story, while making it all sound good and come together. I would read another book by Ms. Dawson!

I give this book 5 out of 5 bookworms.fivebooks

Check out the awards his book had received -

2013 Best Florida Fiction from the Florida Authors & Publishers Association
2013 Best Florida Young Adult Book from the Florida Authors & Publishers Association
2014 James J. Horgan Award Winner from the Florida Historical Society

To learn more about this book and Ms. Dawson, please visit her website HERE.

Follow Ms. Dawson on Twitter HERE.

 

My September UBFP Newpaper article – AN INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR PAUL ACAMPORA

5 Sep

Before I get to my post today, if you missed it, please click over to Michael Gettel-Gilmartin‘s blog – PROJECT MAYHEM – for an interview Mr. Gettel-Gilmartin did with me! CLICK HERE TO GO THERE!

 

I write for the UBFP Newspaper!

 

I wanted to share the article I wrote for the Upper Bucks Free Press (the newspaper I write for) for the September 2014 issue! The print version was just published. To see the online version of the newspaper, click HERE – September hasn’t been published online yet, but it soon will be.

I hope you like this interview! I really enjoyed Mr. Acampora’s latest book I KILL THE MOCKING BIRD. I thought the situation the friends find themselves in was very realistic and I liked how Mr. Acampora puts the right amount of humor into the story at all the right places. I liked the feeling that the characters in the book really care for each other. At 177 pages it is a short read, but you sure get an excellent story in those pages. Plus the book has a cool cover. :)

Enough of me – on to the newspaper article!

AN INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR PAUL ACAMPORA

 

Former kindergarten teacher and presently a full-time college development officer, Paul Acampora writes children’s books and stories in his spare time. Mr. Acampora was raised in Connecticut but now lives in the Lehigh Valley area of Pennsylvania.

Mr. Acampora’s latest book is titled I KILL THE MOCKINGBIRD (Roaring Brook Press (May 20, 2014)). The book is a middle grade novel about 3 friends and their school’s summer reading list. Harper Lee’s TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD is on the list and was a favorite of the kid’s English teacher who suddenly passed away at the end of the school year. The friends hatch a plan to honor their teacher by getting everyone talking about and wanting to read the classic novel by making copies of the book scarce. As their plan starts to work, the kids realize they started something much bigger than they expected.

 ikill

I really liked Mr. Acampora’s last book, RACHEL SPINELLI PUNCHED ME IN THE FACE, and was anxious to read I KILL THE MOCKINGBIRD. Mr. Acampora has a great writing style and I was happy that he agreed to an interview about his latest book.

 bloglogo – I personally have not read TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD yet. If you had to review it in one sentence, what would you say?

ikill

Mr. Acampora – Set in a largely racist, depression-era Alabama, To Kill a Mockingbird is a beautifully written and powerfully told coming-of-age story featuring three young friends who experience joy and evil, kindness and stupidity, honor and tragedy, and lots more through their small town’s neighbors, family and friends.

bloglogo

 That is definitely going on my “to be read” list! How did you get the idea for I KILL THE MOCKINGBIRD? It is a quite interesting plot idea and made a great adventure.

ikill

I keep a notebook where I play with words and make lists of funny phrases and crazy ideas. I KILL THE MOCKINGBIRD was one of those phrases that sounded like it would make a good title. From there, I had to write the book to find out what it was about!

bloglogo

That’s cool how you came up with the title first and then wrote the book! The characters in I KILL THE MOCKINGBIRD and your other book RACHEL SPINELLI PUNCHED ME IN THE FACE are very realistic middle school-aged characters. To portray them like you do, do you do research, or do you just write what seems natural to you?

ikill

Thanks! Mostly I just try to pay attention to the world. I always carry a notebook so that I can make quick word sketches of scenes that I see, and I’ll often jot down bits of conversation that I overhear. With those ingredients, I can start to create characters that look and act and sound real.

bloglogo

I love all of the humor in the book, and you even made me laugh during the more tense parts because of it. I loved the Christmas pictures scene, Fat Bob, the scene where Michael was reading FAHRENHEIT 451, and much more! Do you think that humor is important in books?

ikill

Yes! Humor is the basis of all civilization. If we couldn’t laugh, I think we’d just sit around and cry all the time, and then who’d have time for big ideas or great works of art? Who’d paint the Sistine Chapel? Who’d write the Declaration of Independence? Who’d put Disney’s Little Mermaid on ice? I think humor is important in every aspect of our lives. Books included.

bloglogo

Are you working on any upcoming projects that you would like to tell us about?

ikill

Mr. Acampora – I’m working on several projects right now including a couple novels and short pieces too. If they come together, you’ll see stories with a run-away grandma, a duck that thinks it’s a dog, a dinosaur obsessed waitress, a school play about battling lemonade stands, and hopefully lots more.

 To learn more about Paul Acampora and his books, please visit paulacampora.com.

 For more on books and reading visit my blog ThisKidReviewsBooks.com!

Back to School with Dan Gutman’s My Weird School Books!

4 Sep

Hot DIGGITY –  Two new books from Dan Gutman’s My Weird School series!

mskluteMy Weirder School #11: Miss Klute is a Hoot!

By Dan Gutman

Illustrated by Jim Paillot

112 pages – ages 6+
Published by HarperCollins  on June 24, 2014

When Mr. Macky, the school reading specialist, comes in to AJ and his friends’ class with a giant labradoodle reading therapy dog named Miss Klute, the kids aren’t sure about what to think of her. But, it turns out that reading to Miss Klute is actually pretty cool! Until she starts acting strangly. She seems… Depressed. What’s going on with Miss Klute?

This book is hilarious!!! I’ll never get tired of this series. It’s just too much fun! I love that the school gets a reading therapy dog, (a lot like the excellent Rhythm the therapy dog, from the ReadingWithRhythm blog), and how the kids actually like reading now, because of Miss Klute. Mr. Gutman has written another great book! And, as always, the illustrations by Mr. Paillot are humorous and fun – perfect for this wacky book!

~

backtoshoolweirdBack to School, Weird Kids Rule! – A My Weird School Special

By Dan Gutman

Illustrated by Jim Paillot

144 pages – ages 6+

AJ is away on vacation, not to come back for another week, right before school starts. Well, would you know? AJ is back early! Apparently, there was a hurricane near where they were vacationing. And now AJ and his family are staying in Andrea’s house. For a week. It’s the best thing that’s ever happened to Andrea!

This is a great back-to-school book! I love that it is told from Andrea’s point of view (instead of the normal point of view, AJ). It was a very revealing perspective. Mr. Gutman knows how to write stories that gets kids reading! Like before, the illustrations are magnificent!Love the “Weird Extras” in the back of the book (games, trivia and facts).

~

I give both of these books 5 out of 5 bookworms!fivebooks

Reporting from The National Book Festival in Washington DC

2 Sep

HELLO BLOGGING WORLD!

Guess what I got to do this past Saturday?

Okay, you probably guessed it from the title of my blog article.

I got to go to the National Book Festival in Washington DC!

2014natlbookfestThe 14th annual Library of Congress National Book Festival was held at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Before this, it was held on the Mall. I think I liked it better inside because it was air-conditioned (and there were real bathrooms) but it seemed a lot more crowded than when it was outside.

What was especially cool about my visit this year was I was official -

 img314That’s right, the AWESOME owner of the The Upper Buck Free Press (click HERE to go to their Facebook page), supplied me with an official press pass (for those of you who don’t know, I write a monthly book review column for The Upper Bucks Free Press called This Kid Reviews Books :) ).

I wanted to tell you about some of the highlights of the trip and to encourage you to go next year, especially if you’ve never been to it! Since I am a kid and I am interested in Kid Lit, I am reporting on kid – friendly things at the festival. Don’t get the wrong idea, there were PLENTY of adult and young adults authors and events at the festival too, I just didn’t go to them.

The first thing I did when we got there was to hear Kate DiCamillo (National Ambassador of Young People’s Literature and uber-author extraordinaire) speak. I was so anxious to hear her. I am a huge fan of her books. Ms. DiCamillo came out and announced she didn’t really like speeches and wanted to just do a question and answer with the audience – very cool. So kids mostly (why adults were afraid to ask questions, I don’t know) lined up to ask her all sorts of things. She was super funny and gave a ton of great advice and information. I asked her what it was like being the “National Ambassador of Young People’s Literature” and she said it sounded kind of scary when I said it like that and that I sounded like I should be a news reporter. :)

The best advice I think she gave was to aspiring authors. She said “read as much as you can.”  The best story she had was how Mercy Watson came to love toast with a lot of butter on it – you’ll have to ask her yourself when you go hear her speak. ;)

???????????????????????????????

Ms. DiCamillo signed books after her talk. She was supposed to be there for an hour, but she had somewhere close to 400 people in her line (me included) to get a book signed. Ms. DiCamillo stayed until the last book was signed! Nice lady. :)

I have to give a shout-out to the Junior League of Washington DC. They are a volunteer organization and their volunteers kept all the book signing lines orderly and moving. And they were all super nice! There were TONS of people waiting to get books signed and the JLW made sure everyone got to where they needed to be. A super shout out to Deidra from the JLW who answered some questions for me!

???????????????????????????????

After I got my book signed by Ms. DiCamillo – I hopped over to Jeffrey Brown and Peter Brown’s lines and got my copies of Jedi Academy #1 and My Teacher’s A Monster! (No, I am not.) signed

IMAG0558???????????????????????????????Both Mr. Browns’ were very nice and took time to say “Hi” to everyone even though they had a ton of books to sign. :)

Then I took a look around to see the other things at the festival.

Scholastic had a cool pavilion area where they had a bunch of bean bag chairs set up for reading and had read aloud sessions. They had coloring and craft activities and had cool swag they were giving away including Goosebumps books and Grimmtastic Girls books. Dav Pilkey was at the festival and Scholastic had a giant Captain Underpants you could get your picture taken with. I tried to get one with him, but I couldn’t get close to C.U.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????PBS Kids had a cool pavilion too. They had all sorts of activities for kids and characters from PBS shows/ I saw The Cat in the Hat at the PBS pavilion too.

???????????????????????????????There was a 50 States pavilion where all the states and US territories were represented. You got a little map that you took around and when you visited the states, you got a stamp on your map. If you visited them all, you got a squishy LEGO stress block (of course I had to get one). Each state had a book that represented the state and there was information about each state at each booth.

???????????????????????????????It was in the 50 State pavilion I had my first sighting of author/illustrator Raina Telgemeier. She wrote SMILE (loved it), a bunch of Baby Sitters Club books (Josie loves them) and her newest book is SISTERS (I just got a review copy of it – check out all her books at her website HERE). I love Ms. Telgemeier’s illustration style and, as many of you know, I am a huge graphic novel fan so I was geeking out when I saw Ms. Telgemeier just hanging out in the States pavilion. I tried to say “hi” because I wouldn’t be able to get to her signing (we had to leave before it) but missed my opportunity because she had to get shuffled off to go somewhere by whoever was in charge of those things. *sigh*

Moving along…

I signed the Declaration for the Right to Libraries presented by the American Library Association. :)

???????????????????????????????And met up with the Washington Post’s newspaper dog reporter, Ned The Newshound.

???????????????????????????????Then I hopped into line to get my copy of Frank Einstein signed by illustrator (and one of my favorite people) Brian Biggs. Mr. Biggs illustrated Jon Scieszka’s book “Frank Einstein and the Antimatter Motor.” I met Mr. Biggs a couple of times before and he is always super nice (and a GREAT illustrator AND author).

???????????????????????????????Then I got my copy of “Dead End in Norvelt” signed by one of my new favorite people – Jack Gantos. Mr. Gantos was busy taking “selfies” with some young fans when I got up to him. As a HUGE book fan, it is so cool when you get to meet someone who’s books you really love and they turn out to be AWESOME people. Mr. Gantos is one of them. :) I am looking forward to reading his new book THE KEY THAT SWALLOWED JOEY PIGZA (Book 5 in the series – Macmillan).

???????????????????????????????Then there was that awkward moment I realized my hair looked just like my shirt…

???????????????????????????????Hey! There goes Raina Telgemeier again! Over by the food court!

 

???????????????????????????????At this point I decided not to try to catch up to her because A) I didn’t want to be a pest and B) if it really wasn’t her, well, that’d just be awkward.

So on to one of the HIGHLIGHTS of my visit – Molly Idle!

I went to hear Ms. Idle give a talk. I LOVE Ms. Idle’s books (and I just got Flora and the Penguin (Chronicle Books) to review so I was hoping she’d be talking about it). Ms. Idle have an AWESOME talk. She went through her new book Flora and the Penguin with us and talked about creating it. She showed us all how to draw penguins and flamingos.

BwT6Q8uCQAA8CYO.jpg largeAND she let us in on her next project – Flora and the Peacocks (Chronicle Books)! Can’t WAIT! When Ms. Idle said we could ask questions, I asked her if she listened to music or had music in her head when she does the Flora books. She said yes, and that the books were based on waltzes – even the flaps in the books are meant to keep waltz time. How cool! No wonder everything flows so well! PLUS Ms. Idle let me keep the penguin picture she drew for the talk! ;)

So, after the talk, my mom and I were standing outside the room where the talk was, looking at the schedule, when who comes around the corner? Molly Idle! I said “hi” and she asked what we were up to. My mom told her we were about to go stand in line to get books signed by her. :) Ms. Idle offered to walk over with us! She was super nice and we got to talk about all kinds of stuff.

???????????????????????????????After getting all my books and penguin picture signed by Ms. Idle, I hopped over to Anne Ursu’s book signing line. I loved The Real Boy and Breadcrumbs (Walden Pond Press) and was very excited to meet Ms. Ursu! She was very nice and even though her line was super long, she took time to say “hi” to everyone. She seemed genuinely happy to meet everyone. I love to meet authors I admire!

BwT15bZCQAAhE58.jpg large

 My last stop was to meet the AWESOME team of author Patrick Henry Bass and illustrator Jerry Craft! Mr. Bass’ and Mr. Craft’s new book  that just came out August 26th is called “The Zero Degree Zombie Zone.” After reading the description of it on Scholastic’s website (click HERE), I knew I had to get it and get it signed (it is total geekdom to get a book signed by both author AND illustrator). While standing in line I noticed Charisse Meloto from Scholastic (back story – when I started blogging when I was nine years old, Ms. Meloto was the very first person from any publisher to talk to me and give me encouragement for what I am doing – I haven’t seen her since I met her almost 3 years ago). I was worried Ms. Meloto wouldn’t remember me, but she did. :)

???????????????????????????????When we got up to Mr. Bass and Mr. Craft, Ms. Meloto told them my mom and I drove 5 hours to be at the event and that I review books. Mr. Bass said, with a smile, “Did he trash us?” ;) No Mr. Bass, your book is right up my alley! Both Mr. Craft and Mr. Bass were very nice and I am hoping that THE ZERO DEGREE ZOMBIE ZONE is just the first of many!

???????????????????????????????So that  was the end of my day. We had a 5 hour drive back home so I couldn’t stay for the graphic novel session :( BUT – I had a great time!

Oh and I got to crash Kate DiCamillo’s podium before she got there. ;)

???????????????????????????????

mdbloghoop

Great Back-to-School Picture Books from HarperCollins!

1 Sep

Before I get to tell you about some great back-to-school books, I get to announce that the winner of a signed copy of Jenifer Alvarez’s Guardian Herd: Starfire  (see my review HERE) is 

Rebecca “Franticmommy” Flansburg!

WOO! Congratulations M. Flansburg, I will be emailing you to get the address you want the book sent to! 

guardian

Now to tell you about some GREAT picture books!

 

chuChu’s First Day of School

By Neil Gaiman

Illustrated by Adam Rex

32 pages – ages 4+
Published by HarperCollins on June 24, 2014

 

Summary (from the inside jacket): It is Chu’s first day of school. Chu is nervous. He hopes the other boys and girls will be nice. Will they like him? What will happen at school today? Will Chu do what Chu does best?

What I thought: This was a very cute book. I like that it shows Chu being afraid that the other kids may not like him (not just being afraid to go to school). I think a lot of kids have this fear. On top of the nice story, the illustrations are wonderful and had a slightly realistic feeling to them. I think it made them very unique images.

chu2

Chu is adorable. I love his aviator helmet and goggles. Mr. Gaiman has written a nice picture book about going back to school. I love Chu’s talent, or as his new teacher says, “what he can do.” I think this book will help kids who are nervous about what other kids will think of them at school.

There is a printable activity to go with the book on the publisher’s website – click HERE

To learn more about Chu, please visit Mr. Gaiman’s website HERE

~

littlelolaLittle Lola

by Julie Saab and David Gothard

32 pages – ages 4+

Published by Greenwillow Books on April 22, 2014

Summary (from the inside jacket): Little Lola loves everything! So when she discovers school, you can be sure that she’ll love every minute of it. Yes, she’s a cat. (And when was the last time you saw a cat in school?) But being a cat never stopped Lola!

What I thought: THIS BOOK IS HILARIOUS!!! I thought this was going to be a cute little kitty going to school book, but wow – Lola is one energetic kitty determined to have a great day! The story is great! I love how Lola wakes up and finds a complete school outfit and decides to go to school – not with other animals but with kids. The art is so carefree and humorous that I could spend hours looking at the illustrations. I think it’s a book that could really get kids excited about school.

To learn more about my new favorite kitty, visit the Lola website HERE

~

monstersloveMonsters LOVE School

Written and illustrated by Mike Austin

  40 pages – ages 4+
Published by HarperCollins on June 24, 2014

Summary (publisher’s description): Summer is over, and now it’s time for the biggest adventure of all . . . Monster School! Join these colorful monsters as they go to school for the first time. Reading and writing and learning your monster history has never been so much fun! Fans of Monsters Love Colors and others will love this exciting picture book.

What I thought: This is a nice book about making friends and going (back) to school. The monsters are cute and funny. I like how they all got along and helped the new monster. That was nice. The monsters show how fun school can be. The art has a cool style and I really like the patterns in the monsters.

~

 

pinkandnewPinkalicious and the New Teacher

by Victoria Kann

24 pages – ages 4+

Published by HarperFestival on June 24, 2014

Summary (from the back of the book) – Pinkalicious usually likes new experiences, but when she gets a new teacher she’s not sure how she feels.

What I thought: I think that this book covers how some kids view the first day of school (and a new teacher) very well. Ms. Kann captures the feeling of kids getting a new teacher very well. As a kid, I know how it feels to have one of your favorite teachers leave and have to get a new one that you’re not really sure about.  I love how Ms. Kann shows Pinkalicious adapting to the new class. My little sister LOVES Pinkalicious, and I think she is the kind of role model kids need; one who proves that everyone is not perfect, but we should try hard to do the right thing. In addition to the pinkiperfect story there is a poster, bookmarks and stickers in the book. 

Check out the printable activity on HarperCollins website – click HERE

Check out the Pinkalicious website HERE

 

The Choice of Twilight by Tyler Wise

29 Aug

thechoiceThe Choice of Twilight

by Tyler Wise

288 pages – ages 12+

Published on March 17, 2014 (ebook)

Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.

Summary – Ty’s first day of middle school was horrible. He was late to school, lost his schedule, got himself lost in the halls, was late for every single class and he got homework on his first day because of it! To make matters worse, Ty’s grandpa passed away the day before he started school. Months later, his life doesn’t seem to be getting any better, in fact it’s pretty bad. Ty’s 13th birthday comes and he gets a present from his late grandpa. It is a puppet that his grandpa made when Ty was born. That night when Ty goes to sleep he wakes up in a strange land ruled by a giant tyrannical skeleton. Apparently,  in this world, kids get help facing all the stuff they have to face growing up. Ty’s friend and ally in this strange world is a giant, living version of the puppet he got from his grandpa. But facing the big issues in his life is not something Ty thinks he’s ready for.

This was a great coming-of-age book! It was a very fun and adventurous venture into the land of imagination. I love Ty’s addiction to LEGOs (and the LEGO room) – he’s my kind of guy! Ty is altogether a great character. He’s pretty much what I am looking for in a main character. I must admit, I wasn’t that sure if I would like this book. The cover and title threw me off. I was expecting a dark, moody story (not my favorite kind). This was nothing like that. It was a cool adventure that, as a kid, I could totally relate to. Mr. Wise’s imaginary world was very creative and I think it’s a pretty unique idea. The imaginary world created by Mr. Wise was vivid and very cool to read about. I’d be happy to read more books by this author!

I give “The Choice of Twilight” 5 out of 5 bookworms!fivebooks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,311 other followers

%d bloggers like this: