Book Review Requests

Well, that didn’t take long! My To Be Reviewed list filled up fast! Thank you VERY much for wanting me to review your book – I wish I had time to review them all! Please check back for when I am taking requests again.

You can email me review requests at Erik@thiskidreviewsbooks.com .

I review picture and middle grade books. I do review some YA books, but I have to let my parents look at the content of them first before accepting a book. Books sent to me should only have minor bad language, no graphic violence or anything else a twelve-year-old shouldn’t be reading. It takes about 8-9 weeks from the time I get a book to review to when the review is posted (may go quicker in the summer when I don’t have school).

When sending me a book review request, please let me know a little about yourself and a description of your book. Authors can also send me “real” books and I will send my address when I respond to the review request. Although I like “real” books more, I have a kindle to review ebooks (MOBI files please, PDFs don’t work well). I usually let authors decide which one they want to send. I cannot accept every book I am sent because of a full “to be reviewed” list. I do reply to every email I get so if you don’t get a response, I didn’t get your email.

I post reviews on my blog, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords (if it’s an indie) and GoodReads.  I rate books on Amazon, Barnes and Noble and GoodReads using their star system and I use my bookworm rating for my blog (see MY RATING SYSTEM). **Please do not send Amazon gift cards in a money value to purchase the book for review. Send the actual book, file or gift a book from Amazon. Amazon considers a gift card (even if it is used to buy the book for review) as payment for a review and won’t let me post a review for a book like that. Plus, I never accept any money for the reviews I do.

I appreciate every book review request I get and I really wish I could read every one, but I am only one kid! I do often refer books I can’t review to other kid book reviewers.

Thanks,

Erik

19 Responses to “Book Review Requests”

  1. Jessica Rising February 2, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Very cool blog you have here. I have a middle grade science fiction title coming out on February 11th. I’ll certainly contact you when I can send you a copy! :)

    • Jessica Rising February 2, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

      My link above is not going to the correct place. I’ll have to fix that. For now, my actual site is gutsandglorybooks.com :)

    • thiskidreviewsbooks February 3, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

      Thanks Ms. Rising! I can’t wait to read your book!

      • Jessica Rising February 5, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

        I truly hope you enjoy it. :)

  2. Steve Sandler March 14, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    You commented on my book The World of the Polka Dot Bear on the KidLit site. I love your blog and would be honored if you would do a full review of my story.

  3. Brian D. Meeks (@ExtremelyAvg) August 1, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    You have a very impressive blog. I just launched a book and have emailed you a request for a review. I’d be honored if you selected my book.

  4. Hermine Steinberg November 26, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

    Love your blog! Looking forward to when you will be accepting book review requests again. My fantasy-adventure book (the first of a trilogy) was recently published and the second in the series will be out in 2014.

  5. James Clarke February 22, 2014 at 4:32 pm #

    Erik,

    I noticed you read my book and it appears that you enjoyed it, My daughter Sarah, the inspiration for the Silya character, is your age, I also noticed you are a reader of the Percy Jackson series. A review of The Bifrost Bridge by a boy your age would be wonderful for reader to enjoy, I hope you will consider it.

    Best regards,
    James Bradley Clarke

    • thiskidreviewsbooks February 24, 2014 at 6:01 am #

      Hi Mr. Clarke! Thanks for taking the time to comment. I added you book to my “to be read” shelf on Goodreads. I also entered into the drawing to win a copy off of Mother Daughter Book Reviews. So I haven’t read it yet, but I’m planning to. :)

  6. Melissa Ann Goodwin March 23, 2014 at 1:56 pm #

    Hi Erik! Your blog is wonderful! I see you aren’t taking any review requests now, so I’ll check back from time to time to see if that changes, as it would be an honor to have a review from you. Mother Daughter Book Reviews just reviewed my second book, Return to Canterbury (sequel to The Christmas Village). In the meantime, I’ll be following along here at your blog – it’s very impressive!

    • thiskidreviewsbooks March 25, 2014 at 4:32 pm #

      Thank you Ms. Goodwin! I hope to be up and accepting books as soon as possible! :)

  7. Melissa Ann Goodwin March 25, 2014 at 5:30 pm #

    :) Thanks for your reply – Happy Reading!

  8. Jonah Rens April 9, 2014 at 9:01 pm #

    I would like you to review a book for me. I wrote it myself and if you would review it for me I would be really happy. Thanks Erik.

  9. Anonymous April 21, 2014 at 2:49 pm #

    Hello Dear Friend,

    My name is Ahmad from the Middle East. I would be so glad if you could read and review Big Fish.

    A part of Matthew G. Sherwin’s review on Amazon: “Big Fish is an excellent children’s story, a type of folktale written by Ahmad Amani—and he did the drawings for the book as well! Ahmad is a most talented man; I myself (even as an adult) was captivated by the short story and I liked his drawings which at first seem rather simplistic but take on a certain charm that I really came to appreciate.”

    Big Fish now is free on Amazon:

    • thiskidreviewsbooks April 21, 2014 at 8:09 pm #

      Sorry, but I am not taking any books to review now. Please check back in a bit! Thank you for taking the time to comment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Birthday Writing Contest and Some New Blog Stuff! « This Kid Reviews Books - May 20, 2012

    [...] Book Review Requests [...]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,253 other followers

%d bloggers like this: