Andy Smithson and the Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning – Blog Tour!

28 Jan

smithson1Andy Smithson and the Blast of the Dragon’s Fury

By L.R.W. Lee

196 pages – ages 8+

Published by CreateSpace on April 13, 2013

In the first book in this series (Andy Smithson: Blast of the Dragon’s Fury, see my review HERE) we learn that an ordinary kid from our times is magically transported to the land of Oomaldee. There, Andy is asked to break a 500-year-old curse by the ghost of a past king of Oomaldee.  The curse on Oomaldee is that there is a thick fog on the land and no one can see very far and the current king can never die (he is supposed to live to see misery that he caused). To break the curse, Andy must collect hard-to-find ingredients for a recipe.

smithson2Andy Smithson and the Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning

By L.R.W. Lee

242 pages – ages 8+

Published by CreateSpace on January 10, 2014

In book 2, Andy Smithson: Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning, Andy is back on an all new quest. He is desperately trying to get back to Oomaldee to help King Hercalon, Mermin (the king’s closest friend, who can’t die either, and the kingdom’s wizard) and Alden (a friend of Andy’s in Oomaldee) find the rest of the ingredients for the recipe. Andy unexpectedly gets his wish while on a trip to a museum. Things in Oomaldee go from bad to worse when the magical prism keeping the king and Mermin alive is stolen. Andy and Alden decide they are going to get the prism and the next ingredient all in one shot. The only problem is an evil 7-headed dragon has both of the things they are looking for.

This series has everything a kid could want. There’s action, adventure, magic, excitement and mystery! Andy is a great main character. He is the kind of kid that I think I’d be friends with. I like how he keeps his cool and does what is right. The world of Oomaldee is described so well, I can imagine how everything looks. I especially like how the villain (the seven-headed dragon) can change shape. That made it even more terrible! Ms. Lee’s writing style keeps the reader turning pages and wanting to find out what comes next. She’s written an exciting adventure that both boys and girls will enjoy. Ms. Lee does a great job introducing the story in the second book so, the series can be read out of order. But, like most series, it’s best when read in order. No spoilers then. 🙂

Five out of five bookworms for this exciting adventure story!fivebooks

To learn more about Ms. Lee and her books, click HERE.

To buy the books:

Book 1

Amazon Paper:

FREE eBook (all versions):

Book 2

Amazon Paper:

Amazon Kindle:

All other eBook versions:


33 Responses to “Andy Smithson and the Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning – Blog Tour!”

  1. lrwlee January 28, 2014 at 8:36 am #

    Thanks so much for your kind words, Erik! I’m thrilled you’re enjoying the series.


  2. Alan Tucker January 28, 2014 at 8:56 am #

    Not only is Ms. Lee a terrific writer, she’s a wonderful person, too! Nice post, Erik!


    • lrwlee January 28, 2014 at 9:26 am #

      Awe, you’re so nice Alan 🙂 Thanks for the compliment.


  3. Sherrie Petersen January 28, 2014 at 9:07 am #

    I love that you introduce me to new books and writers I haven’t heard of. I’m going to check this out — the books look fantastic!


    • lrwlee January 28, 2014 at 9:27 am #

      Erik’s an amazing kid for sure!

      Sherrie, thanks so much for your interest. Love to hear what you think if you read them 🙂


  4. Laura Jackson January 28, 2014 at 10:50 am #

    Looks like another one filled with ADVENTURE Erik – one of Faiths 3 big requirements! Definitely gonna put it onto her wish list : )


    • lrwlee January 28, 2014 at 11:18 am #

      Laura, thanks so much for checking my books out! The Andy Smithson series will be a total of seven books so there’s lots more adventure still to come. Book 3: Andy Smithson: Disgrace of the. Unicorn’s Honor should be released in fall 2014 so stay tuned 🙂


      • Laura Jackson January 28, 2014 at 1:06 pm #

        That’s great to hear, Faith loves series …though she isn’t very patient! It was also fabulous to see that I COULD add it to Faith’s Amazon wish list, sometimes it is disappointing when Erik makes a brilliant recommendation but I can’t find it in the UK : )


      • lrwlee January 28, 2014 at 2:50 pm #

        The link to Book 2 on Amazon UK is
        The link to Book 1 on Amazon UK is

        If you’d like a FREE e-version of Book 1 you can download it at:


  5. Angela Brown January 28, 2014 at 11:59 am #

    You had me at dragon 🙂


    • lrwlee January 28, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

      LOL! Just wait… the story keeps getting better and better and more complex 🙂


  6. LovableLobo January 28, 2014 at 1:00 pm #

    This looks like an exciting series! The book covers are gorgeous!


    • lrwlee January 28, 2014 at 2:44 pm #

      Thanks SO much! I appreciate your encouragement 🙂


  7. Patricia Tilton January 28, 2014 at 2:59 pm #

    I like to see adventure series for the 8-11 age group. This series sounds like it fits the bill and the plot sounds exciting.


    • lrwlee January 28, 2014 at 11:34 pm #

      Thanks so much, Patricia!


  8. Lynn Kelley January 28, 2014 at 3:01 pm #

    Nice book review, Erik. Well done!

    Congrats on your new book, Linda!


  9. ontheplumtree January 29, 2014 at 8:01 pm #

    It looks like you have all the ingredients for a blockbuster here, Linda. Great review Erik.


    • lrwlee January 29, 2014 at 9:16 pm #

      Thanks so much for your vote of confidence. I just need lots more people to know the series exists… that’s all 🙂


    • thiskidreviewsbooks February 1, 2014 at 4:24 pm #

      Thanks Dr. Clune! 😀


  10. readingwithrhythm January 29, 2014 at 11:50 pm #

    Wow! These look like real thrillers!!


    • lrwlee January 29, 2014 at 11:55 pm #

      They’ll definitely keep you turning the pages. I’ve had people tell me they lost sleep because they couldn’t put the book down. At all. So don’t let it be said you weren’t warned 🙂


    • thiskidreviewsbooks February 1, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

      They’re great! 😀


  11. stanleyandkatrina February 3, 2014 at 6:55 pm #

    What high praise, Erik: “Andy is a great main character. He is the kind of kid that I think I’d be friends with.”

    Thank you for sharing the books with us. They sound great.


    • lrwlee February 3, 2014 at 7:56 pm #

      I hope you’ll avail yourself of a free copy of the ebook of Book 1 that’s available on Smashwords. I’d love to hear what you think once you’ve read it.


    • thiskidreviewsbooks February 4, 2014 at 7:24 am #

      And Stanley and KatrinavCtMoWaK are pets I’d like to have! 😀


      • stanleyandkatrina February 7, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

        😀 You are a lovely human.


      • thiskidreviewsbooks February 10, 2014 at 3:29 pm #



  12. Myra GB March 18, 2014 at 4:20 am #

    I like knowing about protagonists that you’d really want to know and be friends with in real life. 🙂


    • lrwlee March 18, 2014 at 8:55 am #

      Myra, I. Hope you’ll consider getting to know Andy better 🙂 the eBook of the first book in the series if free to download.


    • thiskidreviewsbooks March 20, 2014 at 7:28 am #

      Andy is a great guy! You’d be friends with him too if you read the books! 😉



  1. Review! Wisdom of the Centaur’s Reason by LRW Lee | This Kid Reviews Books - December 6, 2016

    […] Andy Smithson #6 (#1, #2, #3, #4, […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: