Grimmtastic Girls by Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams! Plus a giveaway!

25 Mar
About the Books: The Grimmtastic Girls
I know, I know, you’re saying “Erik, this is a series for girls. Isn’t it?” Well I am here to admit, I love Ms. Holub’s and Ms. William’s Series The “Goddess Girls” and when I saw the chance to get to review their newest series “The Grimmtastic Girls” I jumped at it. Plus, I think a lot of boys enjoy reading “girly” books and I say there’s nothing wrong with that! HUZZAH!

Here’s what I thought of the first two books in this new series:

These are a great series, and I love the concept of fractured fairy tales in an early MG book. 😉 I love that the teachers come from many fairy-tales – Mrs. Jabberwocky, Mr. Hump-Dumpty, etc. Kids will love to recognize the names and fairy tales they come from. I like that Mother Goose is the librarian at Grimm Academy. 🙂 Ms. Holub and Ms. William’s have a playful writing style that is fun to read. Grimm Academy is a very cool place that I think a lot of kids will love to read about. The books are a quick read for me but very enjoyable. These books (much like the Goddess Girls series) are great for young advanced readers and MG kids looking for a fun story.

Keep reading on for your chance to win a $50.00 Amazon gift certificate!

Book #1
Title: Grimmtastic Girls #1: Cinderella Stays Late | Authors: Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams | Publication Date: March 25, 2014 | Publisher: Scholastic Inc. | Pages: 192 | Recommended Ages: 8 to 12

Grimmtastic Girls: Cinderella Stays LateSummary: The authors of the hit Goddess Girls series put a fun and girly twist on another super-popular theme: fairy tales!

Once upon a time, in faraway Grimmlandia…

A Grimmtastic girl named Cinderella is starting her first week at Grimm Academy on the wrong foot. Cinda’s totally evil step-sisters are out to make her life miserable. The Steps tease Cinda, give her terrible advice about life at the academy, and even make her look bad in front of her new friends, Red, Snow, and Rapunzel! But when Cinda overhears the Steps plotting a villainous deed that could ruin Prince Awesome’s ball, Cinda, her new friends, and a pair of magical glass slippers have to stop them–before the last stroke of midnight!
AmazonGoodreads



Book #2
Title: Grimmtastic Girls #2: Red Riding Hood Gets Lost | Authors: Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams | Publication Date: March 25, 2014 | Publisher: Scholastic Inc. | Pages: 192 | Recommended Ages: 8 to 12

Red Riding Hood Gets LostSummary: Red Riding Hood might have a terrible sense of direction, but her grimmtastic friends are always there to help!

Once upon a time, in faraway Grimmlandia…

Red Riding Hood is thrilled to try out for the school play. Acting is her dream, and she’s great at it–too bad she has stage fright! After a grimmiserable audition, Red decides to focus on helping her friends Cinda, Snow, and Rapunzel save Grimm Academy from the E.V.I.L. Society. But when Red gets lost in Neverwood forest and runs into Wolfgang, who might be part of E.V.I.L., she needs her magic basket and a grimmazingly dramatic performance to figure out what’s going on!
AmazonGoodreads



About the Authors: Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams
Joan Holub

Joan Holub has authored and/or illustrated more than 130 children’s books, including Little Red Writing (illustrated by Caldecott Honoree Melissa Sweet) and Zero the Hero. She lives in NC and is online at www.joanholub.com

Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads

Suzanne Williams

Suzanne Williams is the author of nearly 50 books for children, including the award-winning picture book Library Lil (illustrated by Steven Kellogg). She lives near Seattle, WA and is online at www.suzanne-williams.com

Author Blog | Goodreads
Co-authors Joan and Suzanne have written the Goddess Girls, Heroes in Training, and Grimmtastic Girls series. Though they live in different states and hardly ever get to see each other, they spend lots of time together in Grimmlandia.

Facebook (Grimmtastic Girls) | Facebook (Goddess Girls Books)
Online Author Visits
WOO HOO! A $50 Book Blast Giveaway!
Amazon $50 Gift Card

Prize: $50 Amazon Gift Card or PayPal cash (winner’s choice)

Contest ends: April 23, 11:59 pm, 2014

Open: Internationally

How to enter: Please enter by clicking on the Rafflecopter link below.

Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. A winner will be randomly drawn through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winner will then have 72 hours to respond. If the winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by the authors, Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams and is hosted and managed by Renee from Mother Daughter Book Reviews. If you have any additional questions – feel free to send and email to Renee(at)MotherDaughterBookReviews(dot)com.

a Rafflecopter giveaway Click ME -Win $50!

MDBR Book Promotion Services

Share this:

Email

Print
Like this:
Like Loading…
Related
Tags: bibliophile, book review, bookworm, grimmtastic girls, joan holub, mother daughter book reviews, suzanne williams

Comments 7 Comments
Categories Age 6-9, Age 9+
← Hank of Twin Rivers: Journey of Change M. C. Arvanitis
7 Responses to “Grimmtastic Girls by Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams! Plus a giveaway!”

Angela Brown March 25, 2014 at 7:42 am #
Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams have done it again! This looks like a great series. Will have to check this out!

Reply

Robyn Campbell (@authorswrite) March 25, 2014 at 9:02 am #
I gotta get these books. Love Joan and Suzanne! Thanks for the well thought out review. As usual. Your reviews are ALWAYS spot on! 🙂 Have a great day at school. (With NO donuts.)

Reply

Alan Tucker March 25, 2014 at 9:43 am #
Nothing wrong with guys reading girls books or vice versa. Besides, we guys have to do everything we can to figure out girls — they’re waaaay too complicated 😉 Great recommendations and keep ‘em coming!

Reply

Barbara March 25, 2014 at 10:05 am #
Erik, I’ve never heard of these books but they sound fun! Do you think they’d be suitable for me to read to a class of six and seven year olds?

Reply

Patricia Tilton March 25, 2014 at 10:18 am #
Am not familiar with this fractured fairy tales for middle graders. They must be good, if they appeal to boys. Great review.

Reply

LovableLobo March 25, 2014 at 2:21 pm #
What fun books for tweens! Love the sound of these fractured fairy tales. Especially like that it appears there’s no big bad wolf threatening Red Riding Hood. ; ) Great review, SuperKid!

Reply

julie rowan zoch March 25, 2014 at 2:26 pm #
Yay for more fractured tales! I do wish the Cinderella didn’t look like so precocious on the cover though. Yeah, that’s my one opinion, but I couldn’t help myself, but it would prevent me from purchasing it.

Reply
Leave a Reply
Gravatar
Email(Address never made public)
Name
Website
Notify me of follow-up comments via email.

Notify me of new posts via email.

Thank you for reading my blog! I read and like every comment even if I don’t get a chance to comment back!

What I am reading now!

I am a kid coach and contributor at –

I write for the Upper Bucks Free Press!

HEY LOOK! CHECK OUT MY BOOK!

Follow me on Twitter!
RT @IzaTrapani: a sweet taste of the good-pie party by liz garton scanlon and kady macdonald denton fb.me/2k4vUJDTW 7 hours ago
Grimmtastic Girls by @JoanHolub & Suzanne Williams ! Plus a giveaway!: wp.me/p1i1E2-2TI via @ThisKid_Erik @Scholastic @MDBookReviews 7 hours ago
Grimmtastic Girls by Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams! Plus a giveaway! wp.me/p1i1E2-2TI 7 hours ago
National Geographic Kids Mega-Giveaway + Book Review: Ultimate Globetrotting World Atlas 2014 – go.shr.lc/1jpY28I via @MDBookReviews 8 hours ago
Check out all the entries in the @SusannaLHill March Madness Writing Contest! Fracture Fairy Tales + Awesomeness! susannahill.blogspot.com/2014/03/the-ma… … 8 hours ago

LIKE ME ON FACEBOOK! }:o)

Get an email subscription to my blog!
Click to follow this blog and receive an email when I post something new!

Join 2,359 other followers

Check out my little sister’s blog! Animals and Art!

Story Boys Blog!

Ethan’s Journal

I am taking Susanna Leonard Hill’s Making Picture Book Magic Course!
Banner by Loni Edwards

Card Catalog of Reviews
12×12
Age 1-5
Age 12+
Age 6-9
Age 9+
Comics / Graphic Novels
Creative Kids
Erik’s Favs
Good Books
Guest Reviews
Newspaper Columns
Other Stuff Related to Books and Reading
Perfect Picture Book Friday
Check out The Harleysville Book Store!

Click Below to Find and Support Your Local Book Store!

Goodreads
Goodreads: read
There is One of Everything in the World
4 of 5 stars
There is One of Everything in the World
by A.T. MacDonnacha
Baboogan and his father, Haiyugen, lived on an island. The place they, and the others they lived with, thought was the only habitable place in the world after the Great Floods happened. Now they are lost at sea. Angry for being banished …
Lola Zola and the Lemonade Crush
5 of 5 stars
Lola Zola and the Lemonade Crush
by Marcy Winograd
Lola Zola’s family is in a fix – both of Lola’s parents have gotten laid-off of work. They need money. But, how can Lola help? After all, she’s only a 6th grader! But, what if she sold lemonade? Lola and her best friend set up a lemonade…
At the Same Moment, Around the World
5 of 5 stars
At the Same Moment, Around the World
by Clotilde Perrin
This is a very unique book. It really draws the reader into the story by following the story around the world. I like how the pictures on the pages flow into each other, like the images below, which is really cool. I also like how the l…
The Wavering Werewolf: A Monsterrific Tale
5 of 5 stars
The Wavering Werewolf: A Monsterrific Tale
by David Lubar
Norman was just an everyday kid. That is, until he happened to get bitten by a wolf during a school science field trip through a forest. Suddenly, Norman is getting weird wolf attributes, like his nails are growing into claw-like things,…
DINOSAURS: Fun Facts and Amazing Photos of Animals in Nature
4 of 5 stars
DINOSAURS: Fun Facts and Amazing Photos of Animals in Nature
by Emma Child
Have you ever wondered about the dinosaurs who ruled the Earth so long ago? This book gives great examples of some of the dinosaurs who lived millions of years ago. It also has information about fossils in the first couple of pages and h…

goodreads.com
Places I like to Visit
The Girl Named Jack
Polilla Writes
Rick Riordan’s website
Kid Lit Reviews
Positive Parental Participation
My Brain on Books
The Patient Dreamer
No Water River
Xander’s Middle-Grade Book Reviews
Ms. Yingling Reads
Bookworms Read More Books
Children’s Books Heal
Author Darlene Foster
Bookworm Blather -Author Michelle Isenhoff
By Word of Beth
Stanley and Katrina
Catherine Johnson’s blog
Author Julie Hedlund
On The Write Track
Writing for Kids
Illustration – Mark Fearing
Kid-Lit 411
Author Roland Smith’s Website
Susanna Hill’s blog
Author Rick Riordan’s blog
Gathering Books
Reader’s and Writer’s Paradise
Miss Marple’s Musings
Julie Rowan Zoch’s Blog

badge created by Loni Edwards

Top Posts & Pages
Hank of Twin Rivers: Journey of Change M. C. Arvanitis
Perfect Picture Book Friday! The Nightingale Who Lost and Found His Song
Grimmtastic Girls by Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams! Plus a giveaway!
Hello Honduras! My Author Skype Visit to Escuela Bilingue Santa Maria Del Valle
ABOUT “THIS KID” — ERIK!
My Entry in the March Madness Writing Contest!
The 39 Clues Series books 1-10
George Washington’s Socks – A Time Travel Adventure
Contact Me
Books I Read This Year
Feeds
RSS Feed RSS – Posts

RSS Feed RSS – Comments

Where the Awesome People Who Visit Me are from!
Map
I TRAIN TAEKWON DO!
TKD Trains your body AND mind!
TKD Trains your body AND mind!

I Love Legos!

Check out my friend

Travis Da Drummer!

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Bueno Theme.
Follow
Follow “This Kid Reviews Books”
Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,359 other followers