Multicultural Children’s Book Day: Celebrating Diversity in Children’s Literature!

21 Jan
I am participating in Multicultural Children’s Book Day, which takes place on January 27th!
MCCBDI am a kid who loves to learn about different cultures and countries. I am trying to learn different languages too. I guess I try to find books like these so I never really thought about there not being that many out there. That’s why when I had a chance to participate in Multicultural Children’s Book Day, I signed up! The event is co-hosted by Mia Wenjen from Pragmatic Mom and Valarie Budayr from Jump Into a Book/Audrey Press.

Here is the mission of the day –

“Despite census data that shows 37% of the US population consists of people of color, only 10% of children’s books published have diversity content. Using the Multicultural Children’s Book Day, Mia and Valarie are on a mission to change all of that. Their mission is to not only raise awareness for the kid’s books that celebrate diversity, but to get more of these types of books into classrooms and libraries. Another goal of this exciting event is create a compilation of books and favorite reads that will provide not only a new reading list for the winter, but also a way to expose brilliant books to families, teachers, and libraries.“

I have been highlighting some great multicultural books this week, but I was sent two AWESOME books from Barefoot Books to specially review for MCCBD. Barefoot Books has a bunch of great multicultural books in their catalog, make sure to check them out. PLUS Barefoot books is hosting a giveaway on the 27th. Please like them on Facebook by clicking HERE and on the 27th see how to enter to win!

Now onto the reviews!

odysseusThe Adventures of Odysseus

127 pages – ages 8+

Retold by Daniel Morden and Hugh Lupton

Illustrated by Christina Balit

Published by Barefoot Books August 1, 2010

The Greek king of Ithaca, Odysseus, was called upon to fight against Troy in the Trojan War. After the war, Odysseus and his soldiers sailed for Ithaca. But, when they moor at a strange island, and blind the giant cyclops Polyphemus, Odysseus shouts his name during bloating to the monster about who blinded it. The cyclops curses Odysseus and his crew. Polyphemus’ father, the god of the sea, Poseidon, then makes it extremely trying for Odysseus and his crew. Most of the crew die. Will Odysseus and his men every see home again?

This is a great re-telling of the Odyssey by the blind poet, Homer. I love how this abridged version of the Odyssey is pretty simple, but very informative and perfect for the age it is written for. In this book, kids learn more about the Ancient Greek culture through the fabulous illustrations and the enlightening text. The illustrations are awesome –

AdventuresOfOdysseus_PB_2
Isn’t that gorgeous?

They have a collage-y look, don’t they? I think this is a great re-telling of the Odyssey and kids will earn a lot from it!

Now onto my second book (Barefoot Books actually set this one to me as a birthday present, but I think it goes really well with MCCBD too so I am also reviewing it! 😀 ) –

littleleapforward_pb_wLittle Leap Forward – A Boy in Beijing

By Guo Yue and Clare Farrow

Illustrated by Helen Cann

128 pages – ages 10+

Published by Barefoot Books March 1, 2011

Little Leap Forward is a young boy living in Early Communist China. He and his friends have a pretty happy life. They fly homemade paper kites and play by the nearby river. They seem like they have a life that any kid would have. That is, until soldiers come and change everything! The soldiers want to get rid of “Old China” by burning and wrecking anything that reminds people of the way they used to live and to prepare for “New China”.

This is a great nonfiction autobiography that was written by Little Leap Forward himself! I learned a lot about China in this time period. Little Leap Forward (in the book) is a nice young boy who cares about nature and what is going on around him. I think I would enjoy meeting him. The illustrations are beautiful and well-done. They help me see the story better. Here, look at this –

LittleLeapForward_HC1

Is that not magnificent? I love how they have a warm-ish feeling to them. There is an afterward in the book about what happened to the author after the story ends. It really added to the completeness of the story. I totally enjoyed learning about China during this time period. I haven’t read any other stories set in this time period.

I give both of these books 5 out of 5 bookworms! fivebooks

A special shout-out to the awesome sponsors for this event – Wisdom Tales Press, Lee & LowBooks, Chronicle Books, and Susan Daniel Fayad, author of My Grandfather’sMasbaha.

A SUPER BIG SHOUT-OUT to the co-creators of the Multicultural Children’s Book Day: Celebrating Diversity in Children’s Literature event Mia Wenjen from Pragmatic Mom and Valarie Budayr from Jump Into a Book/Audrey Press.

PLUS!! One of the day’s sponsors Wisdom Tales Press is giving away a complete set of their books for MCCBD! Click HERE to go THERE and see how to enter!

PLUS!!! I got a 2 hour school delay today because it is so cold WOO! Okay that really doesn’t have anything to do with MCCBD but I am happy about it! 🙂

Please visit the other participating blog post for this important celebration. You can find a list of the posts/bloggers right below!

2GirlsLostInaBook · 365 Days of Motherhood · A Bilingual Baby · A Simple Life, Really? · Africa to America · After School Smarty Pants · All Done Monkey · Andi’s Kids Books · Anita Brown Bag · Austin Gilkeson · Barbara Ann Mojica · Books My Kids Read · Bottom Shelf Books · Cats Eat Dogs · Chasing The Donkey · Children’s Book-a-Day Almanac · Children’s Books Heal · Church o Books · CitizenBeta · Crafty Moms Share · Discovering The World Through My Son’s Eyes · Early Words · Flowering Minds · Franticmommy · Gathering Books · GEO Librarian · Gladys Barbieri · Going in Circles · Growing Book by Book · iGame Mom · I’m Not The Nanny · InCulture Parent · Itsy Bitsy Mom ·Just Children’s Books- Kid World Citizen · Kristi’s Book Nook · Mama Lady Books · Mama Smiles · Mission Read · Mother Daughter Book Reviews · Mrs AOk · MrsTeeLoveLifeLaughter · Ms. Yingling Reads · Multicultural Kids Blog · One Sweet World · Open Wide The World · P is for Preschooler · Rapenzel Dreams · School4Boys · Sharon the Librarian · Spanish Playground · Sprout’s Bookshelf · Squishable Baby · Stanley and Katrina · Teach Mama · The Art of Home Education · The Brain Lair · The Educators’ Spin On It · The Family-Ship Experience · The Yellow Door Paperie · This Kid Reviews Books · Trishap’s Books · Unconventional Librarian · Vicki Arnold · We3Three · World for Learning · Wrapped in Foil

Share this:

Email

Pin It
Print
Like this:
Like Loading…
Related
Tags: autobiograpy, guo yue, homer, little leap forward, nonfiction, The Adventures of Odysseus

Comments 52 Comments
Categories Comics / Graphic Novels, Good Books
← Josephine: The Dazzling Life of Josephine Baker by Patricia Hruby Powell
Creative Kid Thursday – Wonder Reader Faith Jackson! →
52 Responses to “Multicultural Children’s Book Day: Celebrating Diversity in Children’s Literature!”

Lauri Meyers January 22, 2014 at 8:27 am #
Great reviews Erik. Nice leadership too.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 9:18 am #
Thank you Ms. Meyers!

Reply

The Story Reading Ape January 22, 2014 at 8:52 am #
GOOD LUCK Erik 😀

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 9:18 am #
Thank you TSRA! 🙂

Reply

Michelle Isenhoff January 22, 2014 at 8:53 am #
I enjoy learning about other cultures, too. I especially like the look of the one by Little Leap Forward. But you know, I sort of wish we had an American Unity Day as well.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 9:31 am #
I really love learning about other cultures. There are some that I don’t see as many books about.
I’m on it! National History Day competition is June 15-19 – celebrating everything American – all people. 🙂 Looks cool – maybe I’ll enter – definitely blog about it! Now – sadly, I must go to school 🙁

Reply

Michelle Isenhoff January 23, 2014 at 9:39 pm #
National History Day sounds awesome! Where do you learn about all these holidays?

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 7:34 am #
Well, I have a site favorited and it has unknown holidays (today is Chocolate Cake Day and Bubble Wrap Appreciation day 🙂 ). Plus, I have a great Mom who is awesome and finds these things. (think of me/my blog as the baseball team, and Mom as the scout, manager, coach, and the back-up pitcher. 😀 )

tinamcho January 22, 2014 at 9:06 am #
Beautiful books! And that’s really neat–Multicultural Children’s Book Day.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 9:32 am #
Thank you Ms. Cho! Glad you like the books!

Reply

Angela Brown January 22, 2014 at 10:22 am #
Wonderful book choices and reviews. I also enjoy learning about different cultures. I enjoyed the book titled Nowhere Girl by an author of the last name of Paqeutte and Flying the Dragon by an author with the last name of Lorenzi. Both great reads.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 4:11 pm #
Thank you Ms. Brown! I haven’t read Nowhere Girl but I did read Flying the Dragon and I loved that one! I will look up the other!

Reply

Patricia Tilton January 22, 2014 at 10:56 am #
Love your post featuring Multicultural Children’s Book Day on your blog. Enjoyed the books you reviewed, especially A Little Leap Forward. Excellent multicultural books to share. I signed up to feature a book too.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 4:13 pm #
Thank you Ms. Tilton! I can’t wait to read your post!

Reply

Patricia Tilton January 22, 2014 at 4:33 pm #
Are we to link to their page? I put something in my header with the book title and an opening paragraph. Will look forward to your choice. You’ve really shared some excellent ones.

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 4:48 pm #
The books I posted today are the ones I was asked to read and review (thankfully they were ones I really enjoyed 😉 ) and we are supposed to link them at the MCCBD site on the 27th. I just asked this morning about it. They said the linky thing won’t be active until the 27th. I have a great multicultural one for PPBF too! 🙂

Barefoot Books January 22, 2014 at 2:11 pm #
We’re so happy you enjoyed both of the books! We think you’re doing a fantastic job educating peers and adults alike about children’s lit, way to go Erik!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 4:19 pm #
Thank you! I loved the Barefoot books I reviewed! 😀

Reply

PragmaticMom January 22, 2014 at 2:17 pm #
Thanks so much for joining us Erik! We are so thrilled to have you!!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 4:20 pm #
Thank you for hosting such a great day Ms. Wenjen and letting me be part of it! 🙂

Reply

Joanna January 22, 2014 at 2:47 pm #
Glad you are celebrating Multicultural Children’s Book Day. Great choice from Barefoot Books.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 4:20 pm #
Thank you Miss Marple! 🙂

Reply

lisarenee25 January 22, 2014 at 3:17 pm #
Excellent review! Barefoot Books are fantastic, aren’t they? I love that they make The Odyssey more accessible to young people. This way, it’s not so intimidating. I would love to read this book! Little Leap Forward looks beautiful.

And SCORE on the 2 hour delay! That is awesome!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 4:26 pm #
🙂 Thank you for stopping by Ms. Nelson! I thought The Adventures of Odysseus was written very well so kids can enjoy it. The art work in Little Leap forward is beautiful and the story is also excellent!
I have my fingers crossed for another 2 hour delay tomorrow! 😉

Reply

Catherine Johnson January 22, 2014 at 3:49 pm #
That’s awesome that you are officially taking part, Erik. I hope I at least remember to find an appropriate book that week for PPBF. Great choices!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 22, 2014 at 4:27 pm #
Thank you Ms. Johnson! 🙂

Reply

stanleyandkatrina January 22, 2014 at 7:16 pm #
Only 2 hours? You guys must be really used to snow. Most of the schools here closed for the day. 🙂 I love that publishers send you books on your birthday. They simply throw books at your now, don’t they. 😉

Seriously though, both books look lovely. Beautiful artistry. Thanks for sharing with us all! Yet another fab review.
~Cool Mom

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 7:15 am #
We didn’t get that much snow. Just cold. 🙂 Wait. Why am I smiling? I mean: “Just cold. 🙁 ” 😉

Reply

KidLitReviews January 22, 2014 at 9:03 pm #
Very nice job. When you commit to a specific day to post I had no idea you post all week as a warm up. You are the King of Multicultural Children’s Book Day! You should put links to all of these books at the bottom of the book you review on the 27th. 🙂

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 7:15 am #
Thank you! 🙂

Reply

readingwithrhythm January 23, 2014 at 8:05 am #
I’m not familiar with Barefoot Books. I like the sound of that though. And both of these books are quite lovely. Thanks for reviewing them!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 7:19 am #
They are great books! 😀

Reply

Darlene January 23, 2014 at 10:23 pm #
Thanks for letting us know about Multicultural Children’s Book Day. What a great idea.Both of these books look awesome. Greta reviews as always.

Reply

Darlene January 23, 2014 at 10:24 pm #
I mean great reviews. I don;t know who Greta is.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 7:38 am #
That’s OK. 🙂

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 7:37 am #
It’s a great day! 😀

Reply

viviankirkfield January 24, 2014 at 12:27 pm #
Wonderful books, Erik! So glad you are participating in this great event…and for giving me a heads-up about it…I know I must have gotten notification before…but I guess it slipped by me.:)

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 7:25 pm #
Glad I helped you remember! 🙂

Reply

michelle January 24, 2014 at 10:41 pm #
Wonderful reviews! I really love Barefoot Books and am definitely encouraged to seek out the Odysseus book. Another job very well done.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 7:53 pm #
Thank you! Please come again! 😀

Reply

Ms. YIngling January 27, 2014 at 6:04 am #
I’ll have to take a look at the Odysseus book. I also like the Geraldine McCaughrean book about him– the whole series of four is great.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 8:03 pm #
I’ll have to check it out! 😀

Reply

PragmaticMom January 27, 2014 at 8:47 am #
Thank you so much for joining us for Multicultural Children’s Book Day Erik! We really appreciate it! You have such a wonderful blog and I love getting a 6th grade boy perspective. I have a 6th grade daughter. I also liked Little Leap Forward which gave a good sense of the Cultural Revolution in China without being to graphic as lots of bad stuff happened during that time (my father immigrated from China but before the Communist Revolution). I also loved Odysseus (and anything Greek mythology!!). Thank you again!!!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 8:07 pm #
This was a great week! 😀 I loved hearing about all of the great books! 😀

Reply

Susan W January 27, 2014 at 8:56 am #
Great job! My kids really enjoy stories about the Greek Gods so we will check out this version of Odysseus based on your positive recommendation. I’ve been a part of the Multicultural Children’s Book Day review team as well and I am very happy to find so many new books to share with our friends.

I also noticed your banner for Harleysville Books. Please do me a favor and tell Shelly that Susan Williams said hi!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 8:10 pm #
I can send Ms. Plumb an email if you want me to, Ms. Williams! 🙂 We moved away from the store about a year ago. 🙁 I love MCCBD!!! 😆

Reply

krissottoh January 27, 2014 at 5:06 pm #
Having studied Chinese politics – and lived in Mainland China – I’m fascinated about the book Little Leap Forward. Will have to get it. The Multicultural Children’s Book Day is a fantastic event.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks January 27, 2014 at 8:29 pm #
I think you would love this book! 😀

Reply

Natalie AfterschoolForSmartyPants January 28, 2014 at 4:50 pm #
Excellent reviews! My 7 year old read the first book and enjoyed it. As someone who grew up in a Communist country (Soviet Union), I am very interested in the second book.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks February 1, 2014 at 4:24 pm #
Thank you Ms. Natalie. Please come again!

Reply
Trackbacks/Pingbacks
Rebels of the Kasbah by Joe O’Neill | This Kid Reviews Books – January 27, 2014
[…] books this past week. To see my official Multicultural Children’s Book Day blog post, click HERE. I reviewed two awesome […]

Multicultural Children’s Book Day: A Recap and Some REALLY Big Thank Yous – Jump Into A Book – February 2, 2014
[…] On It · The Family-Ship Experience · The Good Long Road · The Yellow Door Paperie · This Kid Reviews Books · Trishap’s Books · Unconventional Librarian · Vicki Arnold · We3Three · World for […]

Leave a Reply
Gravatar
Email(Address never made public)
Name
Website
Notify me of follow-up comments via email.

Notify me of new posts via email.

Thank you for reading my blog! I read and like every comment even if I don’t get a chance to comment back!

What I am reading now!

HEY LOOK! CHECK OUT MY BOOK!

I write for the Upper Bucks Free Press!

I am taking Susanna Leonard Hill’s Making Picture Book Magic Course!
Banner by Loni Edwards

LIKE ME ON FACEBOOK! }:o)

Follow me on Twitter!
@Annemazer Thank you for doing the cool contest! 😀 7 hours ago
@TimDavis_Author Sadly the snow on Monday didn’t pack very well. BUT today we had an epic battle with Dad (he got snowed in from work too)! 7 hours ago
RT @MrSchuReads: I’m giving away a signed copy of Flora and Ulysses & The Tale of Despereaux . RT before noon to enter the giveaway. http… 11 hours ago
Still Time for kids 8-12 to enter the Spilling Ink kid’s writing contest! I entered! spillinginkthebook.com/creativity-blo… @Ellenpotter @Annemazer 11 hours ago
Bad Dad By Derek Munson ** BLOG TOUR! ** wp.me/p1i1E2-2Nt 11 hours ago

Get an email subscription to my blog!
Click to follow this blog and receive an email when I post something new!

Join 2,113 other followers

Check out my little sister’s blog! Animals and Art!

Story Boys Blog!

Ethan’s Journal

Card Catalog of Reviews
Age 1-5
Age 12+
Age 6-9
Age 9+
Comics / Graphic Novels
Creative Kids
Erik’s Favs
Good Books
Guest Reviews
Newspaper Columns
Other Stuff Related to Books and Reading
Perfect Picture Book Friday
Check out The Harleysville Book Store!

Click Below to Find and Support Your Local Book Store!

Goodreads
Goodreads: read
Bad Kitty Drawn to Trouble
5 of 5 stars
Bad Kitty Drawn to Trouble
by Nick Bruel
Bad Kitty is back! But, this time, she’s not alone! Her creator, Nick Bruel, is right in the plot! With the (unwilling) help of Kitty, Mr. Bruel tells us readers how to write a good story . The reader learns about protagonists, setting, …
Please Explain Anxiety to Me! Simple Biology and Solutions for Children and Parents
5 of 5 stars
Please Explain Anxiety to Me! Simple Biology and Solutions for Children and Parents
by Laurie Zelinger
I like this book because it doesn’t just explain what to do about a problem kids have, it explains why it is happening. It shows there is something going on in our bodies that make us feel sick in the stomach or not wanting to do somethi…
Rrrrrrggggle!
5 of 5 stars
Rrrrrrggggle!
by Monsieur J
Wesley is a 5th grader who just happens to be a zombie. He and his family have just moved to Stuff Falls, and he will go to Stuff Falls Middle School, which is a regular human school. Everyone knows that he’s a zombie, so he makes a frie…
Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning
5 of 5 stars
Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning
by L.R.W. Lee
In book 2, Andy Smithson: Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning, Andy is back on an all new quest. He is desperately trying to get back to Oomaldee to help King Hercalon, Mermin (the king’s closest friend, who can’t die either, and the kingdom’…
Rebels of the Kasbah
5 of 5 stars
Rebels of the Kasbah
by Joe O’Neill
Tariq is a 13-year-old boy who was kidnapped from his orphanage in Tangier, Morocco, 1912. He was sold into slavery to a cruel noble, who forced them to race camels for him. Tariq makes 3 friends, a 13-year-old boy and girl, and an 11-ye…

goodreads.com
Places I like to Visit
On The Write Track
No Water River
Gathering Books
Xander’s Middle-Grade Book Reviews
Miss Marple’s Musings
Bookworm Blather -Author Michelle Isenhoff
Illustration – Mark Fearing
Writing for Kids
Kid Lit Reviews
Susanna Hill’s blog
Children’s Books and More
The Patient Dreamer
Ms. Yingling Reads
The Girl Named Jack
Children’s Books Heal
Rick Riordan’s website
Author Roland Smith’s Website
Catherine Johnson’s blog
Polilla Writes
Author Darlene Foster
Author Julie Hedlund
By Word of Beth
Bookworms Read More Books
Positive Parental Participation
The Write Stuff
My Brain on Books
Author Rick Riordan’s blog
Stanley and Katrina

badge created by Loni Edwards

Top Posts & Pages
Bad Dad By Derek Munson ** BLOG TOUR! **
Spirit Animals Book 1: Wild Born by Brandon Mull
George Washington’s Socks – A Time Travel Adventure
THE CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS SERIES
Please Explain Anxiety to Me! By Laurie Zelinger and Jordan Zelinger
ABOUT “THIS KID” — ERIK!
The 39 Clues Series books 1-10
Quotes from Abraham Lincoln
Book Review Requests
The Infinity Ring Book 1 – A Mutiny in Time By James Dashner AND Give-Away!
Feeds
RSS Feed RSS – Posts

RSS Feed RSS – Comments

Where the Awesome People Who Visit Me are from!
Map
I TRAIN TAEKWON DO!
TKD Trains your body AND mind!
TKD Trains your body AND mind!

I Love Legos!

Check out my friend

Travis Da Drummer!

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Bueno Theme.
Follow
Follow “This Kid Reviews Books”
Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,113 other followers