Perfect Picture Book Friday – OH NO! (or How My Science Project Destroyed the World)

18 May
Susanna Leonard Hill has a feature on her blog called Perfect Picture Book Friday. It is a list of “perfect” picture books recommended by all sorts of people. I chose this book because EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!

OH NO! (or How My Science Project Destroyed the World)

By Mac Barnett

Illustrated by Dan Santat

Published by Disney Hyperion Books on June 1, 2010

40 pages – ages 3+

Theme/Topic – Books for Boys / Girl Power / Humor

Opening and Synopsis – From the inside cover “It’s a terrible thing when a giant robot starts destroying your city. It’s even worse when it’s your fault.”

A girl genius builds an award-winning giant robot for her school science fair. The robot malfunctions and starts to attack the city. The girl is unable to stop it so she (of course) creates a giant toad to battle the giant robot. This turns out to not be a good idea.

Why I liked this book – First I have to say I am a huge fan of old Japanese monster shows (Godzilla and Ultraman are my favorites).

This book reminded me of them. I love the comic book style of the story. There aren’t many words in the book because the pictures are very important to telling the story. I read the book a couple of times and each time I saw and thought of something new. Here’s a page…

The story was funny and it was cool to see a picture book with a great action / adventure story. I think boys will really love this book. I like the idea that the main character is a girl. I think girls will like it because it has a girl hero. I think it is a great book for reluctant readers too.

The end pages are even cool. They have blue print diagrams of the science projects. There’s a lot to read in the end covers. There is a lot to discover in this book!

The dust cover opens up into a poster.

Even the hard cover is cool. It looks like a scientist’s notebook.

Activities and Resources – I found a great craft activity at the Critters and Crayons website. The activity is to make your own robot out of cardboard boxes. Click HERE to go to it.

I also found a list of do at home science experiments at Science Bob’s website. Click HERE to go to it.

The trailer for the book is cool too (it reminds me of Godzilla 😉 ).

To find more Perfect Picture Books please visit Susanna Hill’s blog HERE!
Share this:

Email

Print
Share
Like this:
Like Loading…

Related
Tags: bibliophile, book review, bookworm, childrens books, Dan Santat, Mac Barnett, OH NO! (or How My Science Project Destroyed the World), perfect picture book, susanna leonard hill

Comments 46 Comments
Categories Age 1-5, Age 6-9
← Youth Tube – A Place for Creative Kids!
Birthday Writing Contest and Some New Blog Stuff! →
46 Responses to “Perfect Picture Book Friday – OH NO! (or How My Science Project Destroyed the World)”

Catherine Johnson May 18, 2012 at 6:35 am #
Erik, that is brilliant and I am definitely going to make that robot eith my kids. Thanks!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 7:51 am #
I saw an activity where you can actually make a robot suit of of boxes too. That would be fun!

Reply

Angela Brown May 18, 2012 at 7:41 am #
This is such a perfect choice! i love the way the different pieces of the story work their way into cover design and everything. You make a wonderful point about how this book can be an attraction to boys and girls. Talk about a great crossover reading piece.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 7:51 am #
Thanks! I think this book is “perfect” 🙂

Reply

Jennifer Young May 18, 2012 at 8:07 am #
This does look awesome Erik! I am definitely getting this one for my son and daughter. Thanks for sharing!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:24 pm #
It IS awesome! I’m glad you like my review! I hope your kids like the book! 🙂

Reply

Christie Wright Wild May 18, 2012 at 9:27 am #
WOW!!! That does look like a good book. SO creative! I’ll have to keep my eyes open for this one for sure. My little boy just turned 8. I bet he would LOVE it! Have you seen the book, Captain Arsenio by Pablo Bernasconi? I think you would really like it. Your description of this book reminds me a little of it.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:36 pm #
It is a GREAT book! I hope you get it and he likes it! I haven’t seen Captain Arsenio before. I’ll check it out! Thanks!

Reply

Beth Stilborn May 18, 2012 at 9:30 am #
Creating a robot out of cardboard boxes would be so cool — this book sounds cool, as well! I like the way it mixes science and imagination.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:38 pm #
Thanks Ms. Stilborn! I’m glad you like the activity!

Reply

Susanna Leonard Hill May 18, 2012 at 9:36 am #
Ooh, this looks like fun! You had me at the point where she decides a giant toad is the answer to the robot problem 🙂 I like that the book allows you to see and think different things as you re-read it. Thanks for sharing this one, Erik!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:38 pm #
It is a lot of fun! I think you will really like it! I’m glad you like my pick!

Reply

Kirsten Larson May 18, 2012 at 9:37 am #
We love comic-book style books and robots, so I’m adding this one to our list. We also loved “The Secret Science Project That Almost Ate the School.”

Reply

julie rowan zoch May 18, 2012 at 1:51 pm #
Kirsten, you must share your blue prints for box costumes with Erik! And Erik, you must take pictures amongst Lego-city creations so we can all scream in terror (for the video!) and post!

Reply

Kirsten Larson May 18, 2012 at 2:20 pm #
I must admit, my husband made the robot costumes when I was at my sister’s house. I called and he said they were having “craft time.” Hilarious!

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:45 pm #
I bet you can make AWESOME robots too Ms. Larson 🙂

Kirsten Larson May 18, 2012 at 5:32 pm #
Let’s just say mine would probably have more color.

thiskidreviewsbooks May 20, 2012 at 9:51 am #
🙂

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:43 pm #
WOW! What a great idea! Robots taking over LEGO city!

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:39 pm #
I’ll have to check out “The Secret Science Project That Almost Ate the School” – I never read it! Sound like you will really like this book!

Reply

patientdreamer May 18, 2012 at 9:51 am #
Love this book Erik! A must for my nephews I think, hope I can get it here. Thanks for the great review.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:40 pm #
I’m glad you like my review Ms. Tulloch! I hope you can find it! I think your nephews will LOVE it!

Reply

Michelle Isenhoff May 18, 2012 at 10:36 am #
GREAT title!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:40 pm #
I agree! 🙂

Reply

Julie May 18, 2012 at 11:04 am #
I know both my kids will love this book, so thanks for the suggestion!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:41 pm #
I hope you are right and they LOVE it!

Reply

Penny Klostermann May 18, 2012 at 11:46 am #
I think my nephews need this book. It looks really great and I love Dan Santat’s illustrations.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:42 pm #
He is a great illustrator. I really like this one because it looks so much like and old Japanese monster movie 🙂

Reply

Darshana May 18, 2012 at 2:19 pm #
Great review. I must admit I am not a big comic book fan, however I do love that the main character is a girl in robot story. How cool! I will definitely be checking it out.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 18, 2012 at 4:44 pm #
I hope you do like it. It was cool to find a total “boy” book with a girl hero!

Reply

Patricia Tilton May 18, 2012 at 9:52 pm #
Okay, the cover and title grabbed me. Sounds like a very funny book. Will have to take a look! Thanks Erik for a great review.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 20, 2012 at 9:54 am #
It has a really funny title and the cover is really good! It is totally awesome and really funny!I hope you like the book Ms. Tilton! 🙂

Reply

viviankirkfield May 18, 2012 at 10:54 pm #
Erik…what a great review! I love the way you added all of the photos and video clip. I’m not usually a fan of robots…but I would want to read this because of your presentation! Good job. 🙂

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 20, 2012 at 9:56 am #
Thank you Ms. Kirkfield! I am glad you like them! 🙂 I hope you like the book (if you get it)!

Reply

Stacy S. Jensen May 19, 2012 at 2:24 am #
I love the look on the girl’s face on the cover. Sounds like both the story and illustrations are wonderful. Plus, I love the detail in the hardcover and the end pages you share. Those details really add to the reading experience.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 20, 2012 at 10:04 am #
It is a funny look on the girl! 😉 They are both wonderfully wonderful! I am glad you like them. They do add a lot to the experience of reading!

Reply

Loni Edwards (@LoniEdwards) May 19, 2012 at 4:14 am #
Hi Erik! Excellent review! I have not read this book, but I have been wanting to. I love Dan Santat’s art. It’s so cool! The book sounds great. Thanks for sharing it with us!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 20, 2012 at 10:07 am #
Hi (and “Thank you”) Ms. Edwards! Mr. Santat’s art is really fabulous! I think you’ll love this book!

Reply

Kara 🙂 May 19, 2012 at 4:08 pm #
This seems awesome! It seems like this is a graphic novel by the one page- it’s cut up into sections and it has speech bubbles. Does this happen to have blueprints to build a robot?

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 20, 2012 at 10:20 am #
It is awesome! It is like a graphic novel, but it is only a picture book. It has diagrams to show what is inside the robot, but not how to build it.

Reply

Heather Newman (@HeatherNewman12) May 19, 2012 at 7:05 pm #
Dan Santat is brilliant. My brothers and I used to watch Godzilla movies every Saturday afternoon on the “Creature Double Feature”. Thanks for bringing back some great memories, Erik!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 20, 2012 at 10:34 am #
He is very brilliant! I LOVE Godzilla! I am glad I brought good back pleasant memories! 😀

Reply

critters and crayons May 20, 2012 at 9:36 am #
Erik- How surprised was I to find your blog this morning- a real treat- I was a voracious young reader but I don’t think I could compare to you! Thank you so much for linking to my blog’s post on the cardboard robot craft! 🙂 I will be certain to reference your blog as our kids get older! Our daughter is 4 and has just started reading herself- She is currently a fan of the BOB Book series for Early Reading Skills- 🙂 The books are wonderful for young readers because they focus on word endings in each very short book. Thanks, again! New fan!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 20, 2012 at 10:57 am #
Thank you for visiting my blog! I really liked your robot craft and thought people should see it 🙂 My little sister loves the BOB books. They really helped her learn to read! Please stop by again! I’ll be visiting Critters and Crayons again and again 😉

Reply

Myra GB May 21, 2012 at 5:45 am #
This is the first time that I heard about this book, and I am definitely going to check it out. Sounds really great. I also like how you related it to other stuff like Ultraman and Godzilla. Made it even more interesting. 🙂

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks May 21, 2012 at 4:49 pm #
I hope you like the book! It is really awesome! I am glad you like me referencng Ultraman (he should be called “Awesomeman”) and Godzilla. 😀

Reply
Leave a Reply
Enter your comment here…

Thank you for reading my blog! I read and like every comment even if I don’t get a chance to comment back!

What I am reading now!

Proud Member of the –

Check Out Felicia’s and My Vlog!

I’m going! Are you?

I am a kid coach and contributor at –

I write for the Upper Bucks Free Press!

HEY LOOK! CHECK OUT MY BOOK!

Follow me on Twitter!
Grab a peanut butter and anchovy sandwich and read my review of Nanny X by @madrosenberg wp.me/p1i1E2-3dA @HolidayHouseBks 1 hour ago
Review! Nanny X by Madelyn Rosenberg wp.me/p1i1E2-3dA 2 hours ago
RT @TimDavis_Author: Please read my review of 11-yr-old Erik Weibel’s splendid, LOL book💥THE ADVENTURES OF PEA & TOMATO💥 http://t.co/GqB6G… 17 hours ago
RT @MrSchuReads: I am giving away one copy of The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus. mrschureads.blogspot.com/2014/09/the-ri… 17 hours ago
RT @TimDavis_Author: 🌟”Unique chance to watch a splendid child-author grow into a brilliant adult author.” TOMATO & PEA http://t.co/BXzzXAm… 17 hours ago

LIKE ME ON FACEBOOK! }:o)

Get an email subscription to my blog!
Click to follow this blog and receive an email when I post something new!

Join 3,318 other followers

Enter your email address

Check out my little sister’s blog! Animals and Art!

Story Boys Blog!

Ethan’s Journal

I am taking Susanna Leonard Hill’s Making Picture Book Magic Course!
Banner by Loni Edwards

Card Catalog of Reviews
12×12
Age 1-5
Age 12+
Age 6-9
Age 9+
Comics / Graphic Novels
Creative Kids
Erik’s Favs
Good Books
Guest Reviews
Newspaper Columns
Other Stuff Related to Books and Reading
Perfect Picture Book Friday
Check out The Harleysville Book Store!

Click Below to Find and Support Your Local Book Store!

Goodreads
Goodreads: read
In the Rainforest
5 of 5 stars
In the Rainforest
by Kate Duke
This is a nice nonfiction book about the rainforest (except for the “magic x-ray goggles” on page 24 – which felt a little out of place). I like how the main characters are a boy and a girl (and an adult). It is a very informative book -…
Flip & Fin: We Rule the School!
5 of 5 stars
Flip & Fin: We Rule the School!
by Timothy Gill
This is a funny book – literally! It is chocked full of corny jokes and I am a corny joke fan. 😉 I wish we had Joke Day at school. I like how Fin and Flip help each other out in the story to get over the problems they are having. Mr. Gi…
The Right Decision
5 of 5 stars
The Right Decision
by Yannick Grotholt
This is a nice collection of short stories in a graphic novel format. I love that these comics combine LEGOs and reading. I think a lot of kids will like it. The stories are really fun to read and I like that the book is broken into shor…
Splat the Cat Goes to the Doctor
5 of 5 stars
Splat the Cat Goes to the Doctor
by Rob Scotton
Splat the Cat is a favorite in our house. Splat is excited he is getting out of school early to go to the doctor but his friends tell him all kinds of horror stories about going to the doctor. Now Splat is scared. Everything works out wh…
Our Solar System
4 of 5 stars
Our Solar System
by Seymour Simon
Mr. Simon has written a nice nonfiction book about our solar system. He explains a lot of things, and taught me some new things, like why Pluto is considered a dwarf planet (this is part of the “updated” version of this book). I think th…

goodreads.com
Places I like to Visit
Rena Writes
Bookworm Blather -Author Michelle Isenhoff
No Water River
By Word of Beth
On The Write Track
Illustration – Mark Fearing
Gathering Books
Miss Marple’s Musings
Kid-Lit 411
Reader’s and Writer’s Paradise
Xander’s Middle-Grade Book Reviews
Rick Riordan’s website
Catherine Johnson’s blog
Author Darlene Foster
Children’s Books Heal
501st Legion: Vader’s First
Kid Lit Reviews
YA Book Blogger
Stanley and Katrina
Polilla Writes
Author Julie Hedlund
Bookworms Read More Books
Positive Parental Participation
Susanna Hill’s blog
Writing for Kids
Julie Rowan Zoch’s Blog
The Girl Named Jack
My Brain on Books
Ms. Yingling Reads
The Patient Dreamer
Author Roland Smith’s Website
Author Rick Riordan’s blog

badge created by Loni Edwards

Top Posts & Pages
ABOUT “THIS KID” — ERIK!
Review! Nanny X by Madelyn Rosenberg
Spirit Animals Book 1: Wild Born by Brandon Mull
Review! Miss Fatty Cat’s Revenge by Meg Welch Dendler
Book Review! Loot: How to Steal A Fortune by Jude Watson
The 39 Clues Series books 1-10
Book Review Requests
My Rating System
Check out My Book!
Review! The Time Smugglers by Rosie Morgan
Feeds
RSS Feed RSS – Posts

RSS Feed RSS – Comments

Where the Awesome People Who Visit Me are from!
Map
I TRAIN TAEKWON DO!
TKD Trains your body AND mind!
TKD Trains your body AND mind!

I Love Legos!

Check out my friend

Travis Da Drummer!

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Bueno Theme.
Follow
Follow “This Kid Reviews Books”
Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,318 other followers

Enter your email address

Leave a Comment