Review! Fantasy League by Mike Lupica

18 Sep

fantasyleagueFantasy League
by Mike Lupica
304 pages – ages 10+
Published by Philomel on September 16, 2014

SUMMARY- Seventh-grader Charlie Gaines was an everyday kid who loved football. Charlie also happened to be a whiz at fantasy football. Charlie’s best friend, Anna happens to be the granddaughter of the owner of a local NFL Football team (a team that isn’t doing really well and is pretty much a laughing-stock). Charlie makes a draft suggestion to Anna’s granddad and Charlie is surprised when her granddad takes him seriously. Soon, the football team starts doing better with Charlie’s suggestions but Charlie isn’t very comfortable with his new-found fame after the media gets wind of what’s been going on. As Charlie learns to cope with the good (and the bad!) of being locally famous, he soon learns things don’t always go the way you plan. Now Charlie is being targeted by the media and it also doesn’t help that his best friend is getting slightly peeved with him…

WHAT I THOUGHT- I will be the first to admit, I am not a huge football fan (give me ice hockey and baseball!) and I wasn’t real excited about reviewing this book. After reading the book, I will admit Mr. Lupica has written a football story that I thoroughly enjoyed. I hung on every word, the story was that good. The book had a ton of football facts and strategies but I really enjoyed reading all of it because it was mixed into such a great story line. The book isn’t just about football. It is more a story about being true to yourself, and making the most of the moment. It was about making new friends, and having fun with the old ones. It was very realistic and felt like a story that could happen to anyone. All the characters were excellent and each one had their own story behind them. I also liked the fact that Charlie’s best friend is a girl, but he doesn’t see her in any romantic ways – just someone who loves football the same amount that he does. Anna is a great character and it shows that she is as much an expert on football as Charlie. Mr. Lupica has written a wonderful story about so much more than football.

I give this book five out of five bookworms!fivebooks

To learn more about Mr. Lupica and his other books, please visit his website by clicking HERE

Share this:

Email

Print
Share
Like this:
Like Loading…
Related
Tags: bibliophile, book review, bookworm, childrens books, fantasy league, mike lupica

Comments 18 Comments
Categories Age 9+
← Review! Nanny X by Madelyn Rosenberg
Perfect Picture Book Friday! Flashlight by Lizi Boyd →
18 Responses to “Review! Fantasy League by Mike Lupica”

Robyn Campbell September 18, 2014 at 9:16 pm #
Surprised ya, didn’t it? Books about being true to yourself are so needed. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it. Now I will too. I ALWAYS take your advice! (Like if you tell me to eat a donut I’m going to do that!) Thanks for the great review.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks September 22, 2014 at 11:02 am #
Grab a donut and read this one! 🙂 Thanks Ms. Campbell!

Reply

Genevieve Petrillo September 19, 2014 at 6:05 am #
I had a football once when I was little (and naughty). I ate it.

Love and licks,
Cupcake

Reply

Catherine Johnson September 19, 2014 at 11:24 am #
LOL! Great review Erik!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks September 22, 2014 at 11:07 am #
Thanks Ms. Johnson! 🙂

thiskidreviewsbooks September 22, 2014 at 11:03 am #
I don’t think you’d ever be naughty Cupcake! 🙂

Reply

Michelle Isenhoff September 19, 2014 at 11:36 am #
Erik, this sounds right up M-Man’s alley, but it seems a little long for him. I see the main character is 7th grade. I’m curious, would you say it’s about a 7th grade reading level, or do you think my football fan reading at a 5th grade level could handle it?

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks September 22, 2014 at 11:12 am #
The language isn’t hard – I didn’t get some of the “football speak” and had to read it a couple times because I don’t really understand football – but the reading level, I don’t think is real hard. The story is a good one – not a lot of action in it, but I really like a story with good characters in it too. So I think the reading level is good for a 5th grader if they like that kind of story.

Reply

Michelle Isenhoff September 22, 2014 at 8:24 pm #
Thanks, Erik. I’m going to run this one by M-man and see if he’s interested. 🙂

thiskidreviewsbooks September 23, 2014 at 7:39 am #
😀

Jilanne Hoffmann September 19, 2014 at 1:35 pm #
Similar to Michelle’s comment, I’m wondering if my fifth grader would like it. I really like the author’s choice of showing how a boy and girl with similar interests can be friends without turning it into a romance. And it shows how the girl can be just as interested in and knowledgeable about sports as a boy. Yay! Great review, Erik!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks September 22, 2014 at 11:17 am #
I think the reading level is good for a 5th grader if they like the kind of story where there isn’t a ton of action but really great characters. I really enjoyed the book even though I don’t really care for football. 🙂

Reply

readingwithrhythm September 21, 2014 at 9:34 am #
Mr Lupica is a FAVORITE around my school library. You can’t seem to go wrong with any of his stories!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks September 22, 2014 at 11:29 am #
I think you’ll LOVE this one! 🙂

Reply

stanleyandkatrina September 28, 2014 at 7:44 am #
Cool Dad is a HUGE Fantasy Football fan (not so much football – but he loves the statistics of the fantasy football) and Neighbor Girl enjoys the discussions. I just kind of zone out – I prefer to watch a good game of football without the statistics. 🙂 Sounds like a great book, Erik. Thanks for sharing.
~Cool Mom
PS – Neighbor Girl reads every one of your reviews via her email and comments to me… she just very rarely comments anywhere. ;0)

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks October 2, 2014 at 7:10 am #
It’s a great book! I am sure that Cool Dad would love this!
~Erik
P.S. I feel like Stanley right now. 😉 Tell Neighbor Girl that I say “Thanks!” and “See ya Sunday!” 😉

Reply

Myra GB October 9, 2014 at 7:12 am #
Sports books happen to be my reading gap. Thank you for sharing this one. 🙂

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks October 13, 2014 at 3:29 pm #
I don’t normally read them either. It’s a good one, though!

Reply
Leave a Reply
Enter your comment here…

Thank you for reading my blog! I read and like every comment even if I don’t get a chance to comment back!

What I am reading now!

Proud Member of the –

Check Out Felicia’s and My Vlog!

I write for the Upper Bucks Free Press!

HEY LOOK! CHECK OUT MY BOOK!

I am a kid coach and contributor at –

Follow me on Twitter!
Perfect Picture Book Friday! Simple Machines: Wheels, Levers, and Pulleys by David A.@Adler wp.me/p1i1E2-3sV 23 hours ago
Creative Kid Thursday! Meet Daniel Johnston Author and Magazine Publisher!: wp.me/p1i1E2-3sN via @ThisKid_Erik @writingsoftruth 1 day ago
Creative Kid Thursday! The Wrecking Ball Employee by Daniel Johnston AND GIVEAWAY!!!! wp.me/p1i1E2-3sN 1 day ago
Charity anthology to raise money for Guide Dogs – Book cover wp.me/p3mGq7-6OJ via @Storyreadingape 2 days ago
@Squishablebaby @StanleyNKatrina Thanks for the shout-out! 😀 2 days ago

LIKE ME ON FACEBOOK! }:o)

Get an email subscription to my blog!
Click to follow this blog and receive an email when I post something new!

Join 3,901 other followers

Enter your email address

Check out my little sister’s blog! Animals and Art!

Story Boys Blog!

Ethan’s Journal

I am taking Susanna Leonard Hill’s Making Picture Book Magic Course!
Banner by Loni Edwards

Card Catalog of Reviews
12×12
13+ (YA)
Age 1-5
Age 12+
Age 6-9
Age 9+
Comics / Graphic Novels
Creative Kids
Erik’s Favs
Good Books
Guest Reviews
Newspaper Columns
Other Stuff Related to Books and Reading
Perfect Picture Book Friday
Check out The Harleysville Book Store!

Click Below to Find and Support Your Local Book Store!

Goodreads
Goodreads: read
Joshua and the Lightning Road
5 of 5 stars
Joshua and the Lightning Road
by Donna Galanti
What I thought – The descriptions in this book were so vivid I could feel, smell and envision the setting. The characters were solid. Joshua was totally believable. He had all the right characteristics of a great main character – brave, …
Stellarcadia
5 of 5 stars
Stellarcadia
by Julie Anne Grasso
I am a huge fan of Ms. Grasso’s books. She writes fabulous adventures for young people that make you keep reading. The action was non-stop! Caramel is a great main character that one really wants to know more about. She interacts with he…
The Three Thorns
5 of 5 stars
The Three Thorns
by Michael Gibney
What I Thought- Wow – what a great opening book for a new series. This was a fun book that really keeps you reading. There is plenty of action to keep the reader interested and a great plot and terrific writing to get you into the story….
Who Wants a Hug?
5 of 5 stars
Who Wants a Hug?
by Jeff Mack
Why I liked this book- I know this may surprise you, as I [normally] am not the hugging type of guy, but I really liked this book. Mr. Mack has written and illustrated a funny, cute story about how a skunk doesn’t like that a bear is lik…
Glitterbelle: The Sparkliest Princess Ever!
5 of 5 stars
Glitterbelle: The Sparkliest Princess Ever!
by Rachael Duckett
(reviewed by my little sister) The reason why I like Glitterbelle so much is because I like princesses and she is pretty and she has good best friends (Angel and Dazzlina). I also like her dog, Bob. 🙂 I also REALLY like the illustration…

goodreads.com
Places I like to Visit
Writing for Kids
Bookish Serendipity
Illustration – Mark Fearing
Author Roland Smith’s Website
Bookworm Blather -Author Michelle Isenhoff
Author Julie Hedlund
The Girls in Plaid Skirts
Mother Daughter Book Reviews
Rick Riordan’s website
Positive Parental Participation
My Brain on Books
No Water River
The Girl Named Jack
Catherine Johnson’s blog
Miss Marple’s Musings
501st Legion: Vader’s First
Susanna Hill’s blog
The Patient Dreamer
Kid Lit Reviews
Ms. Yingling Reads
Books My Kids Read
Rena Writes
Author Rick Riordan’s blog
Bookworms Read More Books
Children’s Books Heal
Kid-Lit 411
ForeverBookish
Author Darlene Foster
On The Write Track
Julie Rowan Zoch’s Blog
Stanley and Katrina
YA Book Blogger
By Word of Beth
Polilla Writes
Connor’s Creepy Chronicles
Reader’s and Writer’s Paradise
Gathering Books

badge created by Loni Edwards

Top Posts & Pages
Perfect Picture Book Friday! Simple Machines: Wheels, Levers, and Pulleys by David A. Adler
Book Review Requests
Creative Kid Thursday! Meet Daniel Johnston Author and Magazine Publisher!
Book Review! Loot: How to Steal A Fortune by Jude Watson
The 39 Clues Series books 1-10
ABOUT “THIS KID” — ERIK!
Book Signing with Michael Buckley and Review of THE CHEERLEADERS OF DOOM!
Review! The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm
Contact Me
Book Birthday and Review! Mission Titanic (39 Clues: Doublecross Book 1) by Jude Watson
Feeds
RSS Feed RSS – Posts

RSS Feed RSS – Comments

Where the Awesome People Who Visit Me are from!
Map
I TRAIN TAEKWON DO!
TKD Trains your body AND mind!
TKD Trains your body AND mind!

I Love Legos!

Check out my friend

Travis Da Drummer!

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Bueno Theme.
Follow
Follow “This Kid Reviews Books”
Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,901 other followers

Leave a Comment