Sir Princess Petra by Diane Mae Robinson

7 Mar
FIRST Let me say…
HAPPY INTERNATIONAL READ ALOUD DAY!!
Today is International Read Aloud Day!
To celebrate see the video at the end of my review!
Sir Princess Petra – The Pen Pieyu Adventures

By Diane Mae Robinson

68 pages – ages 7+

Publisher: Tate Publishing (January 17, 2012)

When Princess Petra’s royal birthday comes, granting her anything her heart desires, she wishes to become a royal knight. Her parents aren’t too happy and tell her girls can’t be knights…but there is no official rule to stop her.

Petra has to complete a task to become a knight and the task was to hush the howling, nasty dragon that lives in the forest of DOOM (which might not be as easy as it sounds). Yet Petra, full of confidence, sets off to face all the dangers that a knight will face. Bees, hawks, beastly bog rats and enemy knights can’t stop Petra, but can she hush the dragon?

Sir Princess Petra - Our Review

I liked this book because it has a great story line and a great message about believing in yourself. Petra proves that she and all girls can be daring, adventurous and brave. I think Petra was a great character and I liked Snarls (the dragon) even better because he had good sense and dragons are just cool.

The book is a beginning chapter book so there isn’t a lot of details in it but it tells a complete story. The black and white illustrations in the book are really great too. The book is part of “The Pen Pieyu Adventures.” I hope that means there will be more books about Petra coming out! This book is an awesome beginning chapter book and a great read aloud…hey that gives me an idea…KEEP READING!!

Five out of Five bookworms for “Sir Princess Petra”

***Sue Morris of Kid-Lit-Reviews told me about “Sir Princess Petra” and I am glad she did!

To learn more about “Sir Princess Petra” and Diane Mae Robinson, please visit her website HERE.

You can purchase “Sir Princess Petra” as a paperback or ebook at the Tate publishing wesite (HERE) or at Amazon (HERE).

Now, click on the video because I am celebrating Read Aloud Day…by reading aloud
This is my first time making my own video so sorry if it isn’t so good.
Share this:

Email

Print
Like this:
Like Loading…
Related
Tags: bibliophile, book review, bookworm, Children, diane mae robinson, education, family, Kids Books, literature, reading, Review, sir princess patra

Comments 44 Comments
Categories Age 6-9, Age 9+
← News Flash! Get “Vikram and the Enchanted Seal” for free!
Perfect Picture Book Friday – Frankie, the Walk ‘n Roll Dog →
44 Responses to “Sir Princess Petra by Diane Mae Robinson”

Joanna March 7, 2012 at 6:59 am #
Happy Read Aloud Day, Erik! I LOVED your video and hearing you read aloud – fantastic emphasis in just the right places. I am partial to dragon books and books that promote believing in yourself, so am pretty sure I would loves this one.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 7:56 am #
Happy Read Aloud Day! Thank you Miss Marple! It’s a great book! I hope you like it! “Remember: Sir Princess Petra. By Diane Mae Robinson” 

Reply

Susanna Leonard Hill March 7, 2012 at 7:06 am #
Loved the review – I think Petra and Phyllis would hit it off famously!  But I loved the video even more – especially your curtsy, and your portrayal of the Queen! Excellent job! Enjoy Read Aloud Day – maybe you’ll get to do some extra allowed reading during school 

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 7:58 am #
Happy Read Aloud Day! Thanks Ms. Hill! I hope I can read aloud in class… 

Reply

Kirsten Larson March 7, 2012 at 9:24 am #
Happy World Read Aloud Day! Cooper (age 5) and Finley (age 3) gave your video two thumbs up.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:36 pm #
Thank you Ms. Larson and Cooper and Finley!!! Happy World Read Aloud Day to you too!!! We are going to read “We are in a book” before bed!

Reply

cookiejarprincess March 7, 2012 at 10:07 am #
Happy Read Aloud Day to you too, Erik. Loved the video and the review! I’ll have to get the book so I can find out the rest of the story.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:37 pm #
I hope you like the book! I am glad you liked the video!! 

Reply

Michelle Isenhoff March 7, 2012 at 10:39 am #
What??!! International Reading Day? Oh, whew! I already read aloud today! (So, do we get to pinch those who didn’t?)

Very entertaining video!! Loved it. 

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:39 pm #
Yes pinch everyone who didn’t read out loud today….well maybe just throw water balloons at them! I am glad you liked the video. 

Reply

Michelle Isenhoff March 7, 2012 at 10:40 am #
Hee, hee, I mean “Read Aloud Day.”

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

Reply

Catherine Johnson March 7, 2012 at 10:43 am #
Happy Read Aloud Day Erik! You did a great job reading aloud, you really got into character. The public speaking side of writing will be a doddle for you. The book sounds great too, thanks.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:41 pm #I like reading aloud  My first grade teacher, Miss Kline, used to let me do it a lot in class. The book is really good, I hope you try it out!

Reply

Beth Stilborn March 7, 2012 at 10:51 am #
Great reading, Erik, and great review! (I definitely have to get this book!) Thanks so much for this.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:41 pm #
Thank you Ms. Stilborn! I am glad you liked it!! 

Reply

patientdreamer March 7, 2012 at 11:38 am #
Happy Read Aloud Day Erik! Wow not only a great review but a great video. So enjoyed seeing you and have you reading the book to us. As Catherine said, you really get into character…. loved it. *waves*

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:42 pm #
Thank you Ms. Tulloch! Happy Read Aloud Day to you too  I am glad you liked the read aloud part of my post 

Reply

Melissa Mead March 7, 2012 at 12:34 pm #
What a great review Erik – I’m going to get this book based on your review and great video. I know my kids and I are going to love it.

P.S. – everyday is read aloud day at our house!! Whoop! 

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:43 pm #
I hope you like the book! It is a great beginning chapter book! AWESOME!!! We read aloud every day too!!

Reply

Patricia Tilton March 7, 2012 at 1:01 pm #
Happy Read Aloud Day Erik! I loved your video — see some acting talent there. Does’t surprise me. You did a great job with the video. Hope we see more. Now we know what you look and sound like. Great book review — I thought of Bruce Coville’s Unicorn Chronicles during your review. Think I’d like this book. Beth posted your review under the Emma Walton Hamilton’s Children’s Book Hub on FB today.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:47 pm #
Thank you Ms. Tilton! I am glad you like my “acting”! I haven’t read Mr. Coville’s Unicorn Chronicles. I read his book “My Teacher is an Alien” and I wasn’ fond of it (I just thought it was too weird). I looked up The Unicorn Chronicles and it looks like a series I would like. I am going to give it a try! I will also look up Ms. Hamilton’s “book hub”! Thank you!!

Reply

Patricia Tilton March 7, 2012 at 10:29 pm #
You’re in for a treat with the “Unicorn Chronicles.” The protagonist is a girl, but there are many lively masculine characters. Reminded me a bit of C.S. Lewis. In fact, I will read them again. They are that good!

thiskidreviewsbooks March 8, 2012 at 7:15 am #
I got my mom to reserve the first one at at the library!

Cathy Ballou Mealey March 7, 2012 at 5:13 pm #
Happy Read Aloud Day Eric! Great video, especially the curtsey and *running in circles* bit! Will have to get a copy and read the rest! Bravo!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:51 pm #
Thank you! I hope you like the book! Happy Read Aloud Day to you  I really tried actually running in circles but I ran out of where the camera saw so I had to fake it hee hee 

Reply

willgranger March 7, 2012 at 6:05 pm #
Great job Erik. Your video is a great new feature for your blog.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:51 pm #
Thank you Mr. Granger!

Reply

Lynn A. Davidson March 7, 2012 at 6:20 pm #
Erik, this was great! I would say that if a girl can save her kingdom, a boy can certainly curtsy – a fine curtsy too, I might add. 

Your reading of this story made it appealing. Thanks!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 7, 2012 at 8:53 pm # OK OK I’m a boy who can curtsy!!! I am glad you liked the review! The story is a really good story and I hope a bunch of people read it!

Reply

Jan O’Neil March 7, 2012 at 10:11 pm #
Happy Read Aloud Day, Erik! I loved your review and your video. You have me intrigued enough to go buy the book and find out what happens. I also teach first grade, so I’m always looking for good beginning chapter books. Thanks for introducing me to something new.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 8, 2012 at 7:05 am #
Hi Ms. O’Neil! Thank you for stopping by my blog! I think this book would be GREAT for a first grade class! I hope you and your students like it 

Reply

smmorris March 7, 2012 at 11:18 pm #
Erik,

Wow!!!! I knew you would like this book, but I didn’t realize what a salesman you are. I think you have everyone who commented wanting to buy this book. The author is going to love you for it.

I never thought to do a video reading aloud for World Read Aloud Day. You did a great job. I love how you animated some of the words. That really makes the story much more interesting to hear. Such a multi-talent you are.

Bravo!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 8, 2012 at 7:10 am #
I really appreciate you telling me about this book! It was a great story! I thought of the video after I wrote in the post that it would be a good read aloud and I knew it would be posted on “Read Aloud Day.” I am glad you liked it 

Reply

Sandi Hershenson March 8, 2012 at 12:05 am #
Happy Read Aloud Day Erik! Thank you for reading to all of us today. You did great!

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 8, 2012 at 7:11 am #
Thank you Ms. Hershenson! Happy Read Aloud Day to you too!! 

Reply

Darlene March 8, 2012 at 12:19 am #
This is my kind of book Erik! And I LOVE your video. Not only are you a great book reviewer, you are a great reader as well. Everyone will be buying that book now.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 8, 2012 at 7:12 am #
Thank you Ms. Foster! I think Amanda and Petra would get along great  I am happy you liked my reading!

Reply

Penny Klostermann March 8, 2012 at 8:28 am #
Erik, you did a wonderful job and the book sounds like a lot of fun. Congratulations on doing such a great job on the video.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 8, 2012 at 6:57 pm #
Thank you Ms. Klostermann! I am glad you liked the video!

Reply

Stacy S. Jensen (@StacySJensen) March 8, 2012 at 3:38 pm #
Wonderful job on the video. Sounds like a great book from your reading and review too.

Reply

thiskidreviewsbooks March 8, 2012 at 6:58 pm #
Thank you Ms. Jensen! It is a good book! 

Reply
Trackbacks/Pingbacks
Dragon Books For Children | One Girl Writes – July 7, 2013
[…] she and all girls can be daring, adventurous,and brave. This is an awesome chapter book.—Erik, This Kid Reviews Books What People Are Saying About Book Two This is a delightfully humorous and imaginative tale that […]

Sir Princess Petra’s Talent by Diane Mae Robinson GIVEAWAY | This Kid Reviews Books – October 5, 2013
[…] reviewed the first Pen Pieyu Adventure in 2012 for International Read Aloud Day (click HERE to read that […]

Leave a Reply
Gravatar
Email(Address never made public)
Name
Website
Notify me of follow-up comments via email.

Notify me of new posts via email.

Thank you for reading my blog! I read and like every comment even if I don’t get a chance to comment back!

What I am reading now!

I am a kid coach and contributor at –

I write for the Upper Bucks Free Press!

HEY LOOK! CHECK OUT MY BOOK!

Follow me on Twitter!
New Awards Program for Authors: Story Monster Approved! – s.shr.lc/1mvu6cr via @MDBookReviews 6 hours ago
@writingsoftruth Thanks for interviewing me Daniel! 18 hours ago
RT @writingsoftruth: Interview with @ThisKid_Erik! readersandwritersparadise.com/podcast002/ 18 hours ago
The Readers and Writers Paradise Podcast 001-Interview with Erik from This Kid Reviews Books readersandwritersparadise.com/podcast002/ via @techhelp101 18 hours ago
RT @TimDavis_Author: Get your reviews of children’s books straight from the horse’s mouth.#FOLLOW fantastic, smart, and perceptive 11-yea… 20 hours ago

LIKE ME ON FACEBOOK! }:o)

Get an email subscription to my blog!
Click to follow this blog and receive an email when I post something new!

Join 2,138 other followers

Check out my little sister’s blog! Animals and Art!

Story Boys Blog!

Ethan’s Journal

I am taking Susanna Leonard Hill’s Making Picture Book Magic Course!
Banner by Loni Edwards

Card Catalog of Reviews
Age 1-5
Age 12+
Age 6-9
Age 9+
Comics / Graphic Novels
Creative Kids
Erik’s Favs
Good Books
Guest Reviews
Newspaper Columns
Other Stuff Related to Books and Reading
Perfect Picture Book Friday
Check out The Harleysville Book Store!

Click Below to Find and Support Your Local Book Store!

Goodreads
Goodreads: read
Bad Kitty Drawn to Trouble
5 of 5 stars
Bad Kitty Drawn to Trouble
by Nick Bruel
Bad Kitty is back! But, this time, she’s not alone! Her creator, Nick Bruel, is right in the plot! With the (unwilling) help of Kitty, Mr. Bruel tells us readers how to write a good story . The reader learns about protagonists, setting, …
Please Explain Anxiety to Me! Simple Biology and Solutions for Children and Parents
5 of 5 stars
Please Explain Anxiety to Me! Simple Biology and Solutions for Children and Parents
by Laurie Zelinger
I like this book because it doesn’t just explain what to do about a problem kids have, it explains why it is happening. It shows there is something going on in our bodies that make us feel sick in the stomach or not wanting to do somethi…
Rrrrrrggggle!
5 of 5 stars
Rrrrrrggggle!
by Monsieur J
Wesley is a 5th grader who just happens to be a zombie. He and his family have just moved to Stuff Falls, and he will go to Stuff Falls Middle School, which is a regular human school. Everyone knows that he’s a zombie, so he makes a frie…
Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning
5 of 5 stars
Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning
by L.R.W. Lee
In book 2, Andy Smithson: Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning, Andy is back on an all new quest. He is desperately trying to get back to Oomaldee to help King Hercalon, Mermin (the king’s closest friend, who can’t die either, and the kingdom’…
Rebels of the Kasbah
5 of 5 stars
Rebels of the Kasbah
by Joe O’Neill
Tariq is a 13-year-old boy who was kidnapped from his orphanage in Tangier, Morocco, 1912. He was sold into slavery to a cruel noble, who forced them to race camels for him. Tariq makes 3 friends, a 13-year-old boy and girl, and an 11-ye…

goodreads.com
Places I like to Visit
The Girl Named Jack
Catherine Johnson’s blog
Ms. Yingling Reads
Illustration – Mark Fearing
Gathering Books
Children’s Books Heal
Polilla Writes
Bookworms Read More Books
My Brain on Books
The Write Stuff
The Patient Dreamer
Bookworm Blather -Author Michelle Isenhoff
Susanna Hill’s blog
Children’s Books and More
Writing for Kids
On The Write Track
Xander’s Middle-Grade Book Reviews
By Word of Beth
Kid Lit Reviews
Author Rick Riordan’s blog
Author Roland Smith’s Website
Author Darlene Foster
Rick Riordan’s website
Positive Parental Participation
Stanley and Katrina
Miss Marple’s Musings
Author Julie Hedlund
No Water River

badge created by Loni Edwards

Top Posts & Pages
Spirit Animals Book 1: Wild Born by Brandon Mull
ABOUT “THIS KID” — ERIK!
Creative Kid Thursday – Wonder Reader Faith Jackson!
George Washington’s Socks – A Time Travel Adventure
THE CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS SERIES
Today I am not here…
The 39 Clues Series books 1-10
Book Review Requests
Spirit Animals Book 2: Hunted by Maggie Stiefvater
The 39 Clues: Unstoppable Book 1: Nowhere to Run by Jude Watson
Feeds
RSS Feed RSS – Posts

RSS Feed RSS – Comments

Where the Awesome People Who Visit Me are from!
Map
I TRAIN TAEKWON DO!
TKD Trains your body AND mind!
TKD Trains your body AND mind!

I Love Legos!

Leave a Comment